We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of Exmoor House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Exmoor House
Ranked #3 of 11 Dunster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We think that this B&B cannot be beaten for quality and service, the room tray contains a fine selections of teas, coffee, chocolate, a bottle of water and biscuits. Fresh milk and a large selection of squashes is available from the fridge on the landing. Breakfast and rooms are outstanding. We try and stay there are least twice a year going back for two nights in August.

Steve and Sheila are most welcoming and we enjoy the tea and cake on arrival.

A little gem!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Always a pleasure to see you. Thank you for your comments and your support
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    21
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
146
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

A friendly, clean establishment. A good size room and the little details are well thought out. Cake on arrival, squash available for the bedrooms, great for us non-coffee drinkers. Breakfast was lovely with a good choice, liked the smoked trout and the banana French toast (not together). The lack of parking might be a problem in summer.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank iMack69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated the little extra's. Thank you for taking the time to review us.
I can assure anyone thinking of visiting in the summer that we have never failed to get guests vehicles parked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were made to feel very comfortable and welcome from the start. The owners greeted us with cakes and drinks on arrival and there was a large selection of hot drink sachets in our room as well as spring water, chocolate and biscuits. There were also juices left in a fridge in the hall for guests. The room was luxuriously decorated, with a comfortable bed. The owners had thoughtfully supplied a range of toiletries and anything else that may be needed. The breakfast was first class. Food was locally sourced and we were spoiled for choice. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
We appreciate your comments and are glad that you enjoyed your stay. It is always pleasing to receive feedback. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Like other reviews, we had a wonderful welcome with tea, coffee and homemade cakes [ the flapjack is superb ]. Our room was spotless, breakfast great, proper poached eggs and exmoor sauages very, very tasty. Wish we had none about the cold platter with optional chips we would taken that offer up as well. All together a marvellous guest house, we hope Steve [the chef] and Sheila carry on the good work we will be back!!! Oh and the bed was so comfortable didn't want to get up!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
You are very kind. Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We booked this accommodation after reading other reviews and were not let down at all.
I know its all been said so I will be brief
Sheila and Steve could not do enough for us. We were met on arrival with coffee and cakes very welcome after our journey
The breakfast was fantastic with so much choice and great quality
Also they booked a restaurant for us which was kind of them and always asked if you had a good day, night out or good sleep so were very attentive at all times
Thank you for our very pleasant stay with you

Room Tip: all very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyunitedkingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
We always try to make your stay with us as pleasant as possible, and we are very grateful that you took the time to review us. Your comments are very much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We intended to stay one night, and ended up staying for two. The main reason amongst others was the warm welcome given by the owners. Dunster is a beautiful mediaeval town, and this accommodation fits the surroundings so well. The building is charming and very comfortable with all that is needed to make the stay a delight. Breakfast was delicious. A good start to a week touring Somerset and Devon.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the building are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
We were pleased that you stayed the extra night and flattered that it was because of us. Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goose Green, Falkland Islands
Level Contributor
179 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

It started with a tea and cake welcome, and didn't disappoint from there.

The room was lovely with really comfortable beds/duvet, cracking breakfast which set up us MTBers for the day. You had a choice of cereals, fruit, yogurts and the hot options of full/half Exmoor with tasty bacon, egg and sausage etc or healthier(!) stuffed french toast.

Our stay was not booked directly but was part of a Skedaddle holiday and this hotel met the levels you expect from Skedaddle. This included access to shower at the end of the day's biking on the last day - much appreciated!

Bike storage was at the back of the hotel and despite being inconvenient, it did not trouble Steve to bring them through to use each morning.

They could not do more for you at the Exmoor House.

Room Tip: 3(twin) faces the back of the hotel and is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Always a pleasure to welcome cyclists, and we are pleased you appreciated our efforts. Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
188 reviews
2.3 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunster
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunster Mill House B & B
Dunster Mill House B & B
#4 of 11 in Dunster
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exmoor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exmoor House

Property: Exmoor House
Address: 12 West Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dunster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Exmoor House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us in our Grade 11 listed Georgian house dating from 1725. Although classified as Guest Accommodation Exmoor House has the look and feel of a country hotel. Relax in one of our six en-suite bedrooms. You have the choice of doubles, twins or kingsize beds or spend the night in our luxury 4-poster bedroom. WiFi available. Local free range/organic produce used in our Full Exmoor Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Exmoor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor House Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing