We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A warm welcom” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Exmoor House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Exmoor House
Ranked #2 of 13 Dunster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wokingham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A warm welcom”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We intended to stay one night, and ended up staying for two. The main reason amongst others was the warm welcome given by the owners. Dunster is a beautiful mediaeval town, and this accommodation fits the surroundings so well. The building is charming and very comfortable with all that is needed to make the stay a delight. Breakfast was delicious. A good start to a week touring Somerset and Devon.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the building are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
We were pleased that you stayed the extra night and flattered that it was because of us. Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    18
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
133
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Goose Green, Falkland Islands
Level Contributor
177 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

It started with a tea and cake welcome, and didn't disappoint from there.

The room was lovely with really comfortable beds/duvet, cracking breakfast which set up us MTBers for the day. You had a choice of cereals, fruit, yogurts and the hot options of full/half Exmoor with tasty bacon, egg and sausage etc or healthier(!) stuffed french toast.

Our stay was not booked directly but was part of a Skedaddle holiday and this hotel met the levels you expect from Skedaddle. This included access to shower at the end of the day's biking on the last day - much appreciated!

Bike storage was at the back of the hotel and despite being inconvenient, it did not trouble Steve to bring them through to use each morning.

They could not do more for you at the Exmoor House.

Room Tip: 3(twin) faces the back of the hotel and is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Always a pleasure to welcome cyclists, and we are pleased you appreciated our efforts. Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed overnight this week at very short notice. We had the most fabulous four poster room which was fitted out very stylishly. Steve and Sheila are very friendly and great hosts, met us with afternoon tea and could not do enough for us. Exmoor House also does the most amazing breakfast, all freshly made. The location is ideal for all of Dunsters pubs and restaurants and great walks. Will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
It was very nice to meet you and we appreciate your comments. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here this weekend and it is just wonderful. Very relaxing place and very friendly owners. Breakfast is 5 star!! Especially the fresh croissants!! Room was comfortable and clean. Can't fault this B&B. Would recommend again and again. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alysa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us, and we look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed there overnight recently: Wonderful value for money. Lovely hotel, nice location, nice people, nice breakfast! Stayed there overnight recently: Wonderful value for money. Lovely hotel, nice location, nice people, nice breakfast! Stayed there overnight recently: Wonderful value for money. Lovely hotel, nice location, nice people, nice breakfast! Stayed there overnight recently: Wonderful value for money. Lovely hotel, nice location, nice people, nice breakfast! Stayed there overnight recently: Wonderful value for money. Lovely hotel, nice location, nice people, nice breakfast! Stayed there overnight recently: Wonderful value for money. Lovely hotel, nice location, nice people, nice breakfast! Stayed there overnight recently: Wonderful value for money. Lovely hotel, nice location, nice people, nice breakfast! Stayed there overnight recently: Wonderful value for money. Lovely hotel, nice location, nice people, nice breakfast!

Room Tip: Very handy for the famous castle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Appreciate your comments and pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed for a 4 night break in August and found Exmoor House to be an excellent place to stay. From arrival - to be met with afternoon tea - to our leaving we were made to feel special. The room (No 3) was very clean and contained all the little extras that one needs, shower cap, shampoo, conditioner etc; the room was well stocked with tea, coffee, drinking chocolate and even a bottle of water. on the landing was a fridge with complementary milk and soft drinks of all kinds (with cold water in the fridge). The bed was very comfortable and large. Breakfast - either small or large was well presented and ample (cooked to order - not 'kept warm!' as some do ) The breakfast menu gave a good choice for all tastes. All the usual extras were laid out so you could help yourself.to whatever. Exmoor House is kept very clean and is a credit to the owners Steve and Sheila. We will stay there again if we are that way.
Anne & Dennis Ellis

Room Tip: The back room is quiet at the back and a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DE9539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Glad that you appreciated the 'little extra's' and that you were happy with your stay. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midsomer Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We booked this at the last minute for my birthday. We wanted to go somewhere not too far away, but somewhere a little bit different for us. We love the Exmoor/Quantocks area, so staying in Dunster was perfect. We had a lovely friendly welcome, with tea and cakes in the lounge. We stayed in room 3, which was a lovely double room with an extra bed for our teenage son. The room was very quiet, and very clean and comfortable. There was a fridge on the landing with fresh milk and various bottles of squash - the first time we have stayed somewhere that caters for our non tea/coffee drinking son!! This was very much appreciated. The only very minor negative thing I can say is the extra bed was extremely creaky - or maybe our son was particularly wriggly that night - but we were grateful we could all be put up in one room and there were too many plusses for that to be much of an issue.

Breakfast was extraordinary! - so much choice and very tasty too.

Although we were only away for one night, we felt as if we had been on a proper holiday and would live to come back.

Incidentally; would recommend Cobblestones in the High Street. We had an excellent evening meal there!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rhyssmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate you taking time to review us. I was a little surprised to hear about the creaky put up bed as it is relatively new, but having checked it over it would appear one of the support springs had worked loose. This has been rectified and it creaks no more! Thank you for bringing this to our atention so that the matter could be addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
3.3 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
6.7 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exmoor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exmoor House

Property: Exmoor House
Address: 12 West Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Dunster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Exmoor House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us in our Grade 11 listed Georgian house dating from 1725. Although classified as Guest Accommodation Exmoor House has the look and feel of a country hotel. Relax in one of our six en-suite bedrooms. You have the choice of doubles, twins or kingsize beds or spend the night in our luxury 4-poster bedroom. WiFi available. Local free range/organic produce used in our Full Exmoor Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Exmoor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor House Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing