We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place in the center of town”
Review of Exmoor House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Exmoor House
Ranked #2 of 9 Dunster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in the Exmoor House during a recent midweek getaway from London. Sheila and Steve were welcoming and very attentive. We arrived during a wet, cold spell and could not have asked for a warmer, cozier place to stay. The rooms were spotless, with a personal tea tray and temperature control at your disposal. The shower was perfect. Just a side note, while there is wi-fi, the service can be spotty depending on your location. My phone service didn't work either, but a pay phone in the lobby ensures you can always make calls if needed. However in this town, it's probably best to avoid the distraction of modern technology anyway in order to truly appreciate it's historic character! Breakfast was generous, delicious, and provided all the energy we needed for a long day on the trail. The trail maps shared by Steve gave us all the key information we needed to know about the national park. An added bonus is the Christmas Shop the owners run in the front of the place- a great shop to purchase holiday items. The B & B is in the heart of town, with ideal access to footpaths, historical sights, and tearooms. We would certainly stay again. The 5 Star Tripadvisor rating is spot on.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tamara g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 239 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

What a wonderful stay we had yet again at Exmoor House in Dunster. Nov 3rd 2012. Fabulous hosts, genuinely very warm and friendly, and happy to go the extra mile to make their guests comfortable and welcome. The accomodation was superb; extremely clean, beautifully furnished, a bed to die for, and the food excellent.
Will most certainly stay again and highly recommend Exmoor House to anyone for a truly enjoyable and relaxing stay.
Don't miss the Christmas shop - a whole host of unusual, festive items which you will seldom find elsewhere. An ideal reminder of your stay in Dunster.

Room Tip: Have seen all the rooms at this venue, all are very good. There is also a four poster if you want o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We booked at the last minute and got the 4 poster room. Excellent! Very comfortable bed and room with all you could need; a real home-from-home. Sheila and Steve were delightful hosts and the breakfast was absolutely top notch! Very enjoyable. We had a really pleasant stay and would very happily stay there again, and highly recommend it as a great B&B/Hotel. The only fault or disappointment was they don’t have parking, although they do offer a parking ticket up at Dunster Castle and, whilst that’s great in the summer months or on dry days, it was raining during our visit so was a bit of a pain having to walk for the car. But, other than that, this is a delightful place to stay.

Room Tip: Be aware that there is no parking at the Hotel itself but, you can get a parking ticket from the Hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofisticat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Our stay at Exmoor House, Dunster began with a wonderful welcome from Steve and Shelia. The fresh coffee and very tasty homemade orange cake on arrival went down a treat. Our four poster room was immaculately and very attractively presented with so many thoughtful little extras from the cozy dressing gowns and toiletries to quite the best tea tray that we have ever come across in any hotel/B&B (we particularly appreciated the fresh milk in a fridge on the landing, so much nicer than those little plastic pots)! The bed was very comfortable with excellent quality bedding.

The breakfasts were simply delicious with so much choice that we would have to stay for many more days that we did to take full advantage of the lovely fare on offer. I particularly enjoyed the wonderful fresh fruit salad and Exmoor house cooked breakfast with the most delicious sausages (especially created for Exmoor house by a local butcher I believe) and my husband raved about the trout and scrambled egg option.

Steve and Shelia were a fund of local knowledge and with their guidance we managed to fit so much in, from exploring the coastal villages to an exhilarating walk over Exmoor that our two night stay gave us a weeks worth of memories!

We will certainly be back!

M & J

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MandJ55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our short break with Steve and Sheila. The whole experience was great and we will certainly be back to stay. A most welcoming place and calm and quiet encouraging total relaxation in a beautiful village. We even stocked up for Christmas from the shop.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Steve and sheila take great pride in what they do.The overall quality and standard of what they provide would be hard to better.The breakfast should be singled out for special praise as it is simply amazing !

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I was accommodated here during a recent mountain biking holiday on Exmoor, I was made very welcome from the moment I arrived, and was welcomed with fresh coffee and cake. The room and breakfast were both of an excellent standard, and the owners even allowed us to store our dirty bikes in there back yard, which involved them being carried through there own living area over a cream carpet! I was also impressed that the owners provided us the use of a shower after our final days riding before we headed home. An excellent B and B and an excellent weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weekendmtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunster hotels
0.1 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
756 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunster
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Stags Head Inn
Stags Head Inn
#4 of 9 in Dunster
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunster Mill House B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exmoor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exmoor House

Address: 12 West Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Dunster
Price Range: $98 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Exmoor House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us in our Grade 11 listed Georgian house dating from 1725. Although classified as Guest Accommodation Exmoor House has the look and feel of a country hotel. Relax in one of our six en-suite bedrooms. You have the choice of doubles, twins or kingsize beds or spend the night in our luxury 4-poster bedroom. WiFi available. Local free range/organic produce used in our Full Exmoor Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Exmoor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor House Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing