We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old style hotel”
Review of Yarn Market Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yarn Market Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dunster
Certificate of Excellence
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Old style hotel”
Reviewed August 25, 2010

We expected parking to be an issue so there was no suprise that we had to park away from the hotel. We were in the annexe and 2 of us had double rooms. The rooms are small. If there were 2 of you in one of these rooms, you would be very cramped, but it was clean and there was plenty of tea and coffee making supplies. First impressions were that the bathroom was in a cupboard - it was really but it was actually OK as we were staying as singles in each room. Again 2 of you would be very cramped. TV was on the windowsill so you couldn't pull the curtains if you wanted to watch it. 2 of us were happy with our rooms but again as singles. One of us had a family room and felt it was very shabby and dated and wouldn't want to stay there again. We only ate breakfast in the hotel mainly because when we arrived early evening, the way to the rooms in the annexe is through the dining room and the 3 of us had to walk past a couple trying to eat. There was no atmosphere in there and it all looked a bit austere. (Had a lovely meal in Cobblestones restaurant across the road). However, we did enjoy our breakfast in the hotel. There was plenty of it and it was cooked really well with pleasant service. The 3 stars is a bit misleading because I don't think that applies to the annexe only to the main hotel allthough I think this was pointed out to us when I booked it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Croxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    74
    25
    9
    6
See reviews for
24
74
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

Located opposite the old Yarn Market in the centre of town this is a medium standard hotel well recommended for tourists or short stays.

As usual in the older towns parking is very limited and on a busy day you may well have to park a long way from the hotel which does not have its own parking. We arrived on a public holiday when the town was full so left the car in a pay carpark some distance away and explored the main street before going to checkin. Reception was not attended and despite ringing the reception bell we got no response. Finally walked into the kitchen where the cook got someone to attend to us. Much apology as it appeared the bell system had gone on the blink.

We were allocated a twin bed room facing the street. The room was small as you would expect from these older hotels was brightly decorated, well furnished and supplied with the standard tea/coffee making etc. Bathroom was compact with a shower and accessories. Beds very comfortable.

The hotel has a small basic lounge and a surprisingly upmarket style retaurant. Breakfast was standard buffet style with good quality fresh produce and very enjoyable.
Other reviews critical of the breakfast are questionable. However, we did not have dinner there as the dinner menu was quite expensive and we did not want the formality of the restaurant.

About 6.00pm on the day of our arrival we were able to move our car to the front of the hotel. After breakfast the following day we noticed the main street car parks were again full. this problem would apply to most other hotels in Dunster.

Our bed and breakfast cost was GBP80 per night and we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montydb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2010

We only used the restaurant as we live locally. The service, the food and the whole evening was a joy. We will go again

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snellminehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We stayed at the Yarn Market hotel in summer last year with our two young children. We were so well looked after, lovely staff, and surrounded by beautiful country side. Our rate included breakfast which was nice and the children were well catered for. Will be going back again at Easter time.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whatanadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2010

I stayed at the yarn market hotel in summer to spend some time with my partner. We have booked a four poster room, which was too expensiv in my opinion. But to be honest everying in this hotel is too expensiv.

When we arrived, there was nobody at the reception. We waited for nearly 15 minutes until somebody arrived and showed us our room. The manager was quite unfriendly.

On the bathroom floor there was cloth instead of flagging, very disgusting in my opinion. There was just a tub without a shower. We needed to take a bath instead of having a quick shower. Very unpleasant. The room was quiet cold when we arrived and TV small and old.

The breakfast was ok. The sausages have tasted disgusting, the scrambled eggs seemed to be without eggs. The service was ok, very friendly and seemed to be encouraged.

At the evening we had dinner at the restaurant there. The restaurant was too dark and we waited again long time until the staff came to take our orders. The food was disgusting, cold and overpriced. The jacket potatoes looked like the have been rewarmed many times before. The salad was washed and cut weeks ago and looked whithered. As well the bread arrived after we have finished our main course. On the tables there have been the whole cultlery (salad knife, fork, dessert spoon, fork, maincoure knife and fork, steak knife, soup spoon and of course to plates for bread) and this stayed until we finished our meal. Absoulty no services!!

Afterwards we wanted to go to the bar. But there wasn't any at all. So we went to Lutrell Arms, the other hotel in the villages. In this hotel a pub is included. There we enjoyed a pleasant meal and of course nice staff another day.

In the end, i really cannot recommend this hotel. It's not worth a penny!

Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank death_angel014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Great!! In spite of several negative comments on this sit)e,
I must state;

1. Excellent room (4 -poster) and superb view.
2. Wonderful attentive staff.
3. Great food -(but far too much!! (am now on a prolonged diet). Try the venison!!
4. Excellent service and a great atmosphere The staff cannot be faulted.
5. Warm, comfortable, plenty of hot water
6. Enjoyable, informative, varied activities available

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldossil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2009

For £90 per room per night I would expect parking (we did find some at the back of the hotel but weren't told about it, even though I asked, as it appeared to be used by the staff with guests left to find spaces in the High Street). The breakfast buffet was OK but the evening meal was awful. We paid £15 for three sausages (the same type as were available at breakfast) and a pile of mustard mash. It was accompanied by boiled and roast potatoes (frozen) and various root veg. It was cheap canteen food which would have disappointed at £5 a head let alone £15 for a main course. £16 for a bottle of Mateus was really taking the micky.

This hotel has a great location and the rooms are clean and pleasant but it is really missing a trick with it's poor food and 1970's social club bar (we took one look and went for a drink in the Luttrell over the road).

I would suggest the manager takes the chef for dinner at Reeves or the Dunster Castle so they can see what can be made for similiar prices. It might help them undetstand why their restaurant isn't exactly packed out.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auroras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.0 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
676 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
331 reviews
6.8 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
270 reviews
13.8 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
139 reviews
2.3 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 12 in Minehead
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yarn Market Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yarn Market Hotel

Property: Yarn Market Hotel
Address: 25-33 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dunster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yarn Market Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within Exmoor National Park in the medieval village of Dunster, not 500 metres from Dunster Castle, this family-run hotel offers cosy accommodation with free Wi-Fi and parking. The property is located in the middle of the High Street opposite the iconic Yarn Market. As a member of the Visit Britain Pets Welcome, Walkers Welcome and Cyclists Welcome schemes, it specialises in walking holidays and special interest breaks as well as catering for families, pets and individuals. Each en-suite room is comfortable, inviting and full of individual character and they provide a range of accommodation options to suit all guests. The Gables Restaurant offers a fantastic and varied menu of traditional home-cooked food with something to cater for all tastes. With its ambient surroundings and friendly service, it is the perfect place to relax and unwind at the end of a long day. It's just over a 40 minute drive from Taunton and Junction 24 off the M5 and is the perfect base for exploring this beautiful area of the country and its many wonderful attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Yarn Market Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yarn Market Minehead
Yarn Market Hotel Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing