We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and excellent staff”
Review of Yarn Market Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Yarn Market Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dunster
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and excellent staff”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have just returned from a group walking holiday staying in Dunster. The hotel is comfortable with bar and meeting rooms, ideal for a group. The breakfasts were excellent, well cooked with plenty of choice. The bedroom was spacious, if a little old fashioned, but what made our stay was the helpfulness of Anthony, the proprietor. He ferried us around all over the area in his bus, telling us about the local history and even took us the scenic route showing us the delights of Lorna Doone country.
This is an ideal place to stay for a group holiday. Many thanks to Anthony and all his staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    74
    25
    9
    6
See reviews for
24
74
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

They were very helpful when we arrived and the management also welcomed us. We appeared to be the only people their the first night. We had booked in their restaurant. The food was a bit disappointing some of party's food overcooked - particularly the steaks. Breakfast was also a little disappointing. The fried breakfast was individually ordered but all the eggs were overcooked, scrambled , boiled , poached all were dry and hard. When we asked for a better eggs the next morning the manager gave some story about health & safety requiring eggs to be well cooked. Shane otherwise a good hotel. They could do with a bar - they had one which was a rather small with bottle drinks only.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterofware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2013

A group of us stayed here for four days walking in the area. Owner Anthony, manager Paul and his staff could not have been more attentive and helpful. We found the hotel clean and very comfortable.The food was plentiful, well served and presented. The layout of the hotel was describd by some of our group as quirky - even after three days it was still easy to get lost. Don't let this distract you. If you want to explore Exmoor, this is as good a base as any.

Room Tip: There are useful family suits with 2 bedrooms sharing facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ralph f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Just returned from a fabulous group holiday (31 of us) at the Yarn Market Hotel.
Food - superb (maybe breakfast could be hotter). Excellent rooms. Friendly, helpful and professional staff - nothing too much trouble. Anything you want - just ask and you are likely to get it! Owner - charming and enthusiastic - he went out of his way to make our holiday comfortable and memorable. The weather was very cold but the town of Dunster is stunningly picturesque and oozing history. Would highly recommend this hotel. It may seem expensive at first but is excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Corner front with 4 poster-bed - beautiful views. If allergic to pets ask for pet-free accommodation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holiday_maker252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We spent a family weekend at the Yarn Market Hotel for the West Somerset Railway Steam Gala. The weather was bitterly cold but the hotel rooms were very warm - we even turned the heating down at night! For a family of four the large family suite was perfect. Two good sized, clean bedrooms - one for the adults & one for the kids - meant we all got a good nights' sleep. Views over the Yarn Market were a bonus. The huge bathroom with bath and separate shower had massess of space for all our washbags. We enjoyed looking around the village of Dunster and going round the castle too. Breakfast was great - freshly cooked with whatever combination of items you might want. We had dinner in the hotel just one night. It was standard English cooking and, to be fair, was not as good as the food at the Stags Head round the corner which is why this is a 4* rating rather than 5*. Thanks to all the team for their friendly, helpful attitude. Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a family suite if you want separate rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinner
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed for two nights while visiting WSR Steam Spring Gala.
Room clean and comfortable. Nice welcome for dogs as well as owners.
Ate in both nights and had very tasty meals.
Have stayed several times and would certainly return, the value for money is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haydock007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly hotel in great location, rooms clean and comfortable, although my room only had a bath. The view over the Yarn Market more compensated for this. I visited for the steam gala event nearby and was offered transport too and from the event, didn't need it though but a great service. I would certainly visit again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.0 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
676 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
331 reviews
6.8 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
270 reviews
13.8 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
139 reviews
2.3 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 12 in Minehead
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yarn Market Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yarn Market Hotel

Property: Yarn Market Hotel
Address: 25-33 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dunster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yarn Market Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within Exmoor National Park in the medieval village of Dunster, not 500 metres from Dunster Castle, this family-run hotel offers cosy accommodation with free Wi-Fi and parking. The property is located in the middle of the High Street opposite the iconic Yarn Market. As a member of the Visit Britain Pets Welcome, Walkers Welcome and Cyclists Welcome schemes, it specialises in walking holidays and special interest breaks as well as catering for families, pets and individuals. Each en-suite room is comfortable, inviting and full of individual character and they provide a range of accommodation options to suit all guests. The Gables Restaurant offers a fantastic and varied menu of traditional home-cooked food with something to cater for all tastes. With its ambient surroundings and friendly service, it is the perfect place to relax and unwind at the end of a long day. It's just over a 40 minute drive from Taunton and Junction 24 off the M5 and is the perfect base for exploring this beautiful area of the country and its many wonderful attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Yarn Market Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yarn Market Minehead
Yarn Market Hotel Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing