We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Yarn Market Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kingsway Hotel(Minehead)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kildare Lodge(Minehead)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Beach Hotel(Minehead)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marston Lodge Hotel(Minehead)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveler rating
85
87
26
9
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
87
26
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuffet stylewalking grouphalf boardwalking holidayhigh streetmenu choicesfreshly fried eggsstandard double bedcomfortable hotelstaff went out of their wayfantastic holidayshot breakfastspecial interestwalking countrytraditional charmpay and displaycountry hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 213 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I stayed here during the Dunster by Candlenight event 2/3 December 2011. I stayed in the annex and found it enjoyable.The room was a bit small but these are wollen merchant's houses not purpose built.

The breakfast was good except for the sausages and the evening meal was excellant with a wide choice of options.You will get much more out of this if you opt for full board rather than just bed and breakfast.

The staff were very friendly and efficient and I would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the High Street - it is very pretty.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank owen96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Our group of 30 ramblers has just returned from a four night say at Yarn Market Hotel. We liked it so much last year we decided to go back. It didn't disappoint. The food was great, the staff were friendly and helpful and the walking in Exmoor is some of the best in the country. I would certainly recommend you contact this quirky country hotel if you're looking for a walking break or country getaway. Dunster is a beautiful town, with so much to explore. Don't forget to visit the haunted pub across the road and Dunster Castle. The ladies in our group loved the shops in the town and we couldn't resist the Rohan outdoor shop near the visitor's centre in the main car park - it's the biggest in the country apparently. Anthony, the hotel owner is a mine of information about the area if you need any walk ideas.

Room Tip: Don't worry about traffic noise if you have a room over the high street as the traffic dies down at night
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamblingRoseKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I was a little skeptical at first being on the main drag, albeit in a quaint little town, but the stay was quite nice, especially compared to Minehead, which is a typical beach town. The staff was friendly, and we were able to have dinner and evening walk right in the area. The rooms are cute country, nothing fancy, but pleasant enough. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goldfisharenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Have to agree with 'Overpriced' review on this one. We too were desperate - both had stressful week at work, glorious sunshine was predicted for weekend and everywhere was booked. But we got a room at the Yarn Market in their annexe 'which isn't covered by the Tourist Board stars". We arrived late on the Friday night at approx 9.00 pm. No chance of eating anywhere we were told, so the pleasant gentleman showed us to our room in the annexe, vaguely pointing at the Yarn Market 'restaurant' as we trundled past to show us where we should eat breakfast. The annexe is a lovely building, double fronted with a garden at the front. We walked in and it smelled very damp, but we do love old buildings and creaky staircases, so no matter. Into the room which was just okay but there was a definite disinterested attitued 'take it or leave it'. The place was exceptionally clean but old. Still had a velour headboard! Quite large but with cheapest of cheap white furniture and a small bed (4' 6", possibly 5' max). Bizarre hairdryer contraption on wall - at least I think that's what it was. The bathroom was tiny but ok for the usual 'pod' shower added later to old buildings. Hardly any blackened sealant (my pet hate). We were just told breakfast times but not where lounge or location of any other facilities were.

Breakfast was good but more like a B&B. It was self service but again everywhere spotless albeit tired and scuffed. Nice dry cured bacon, awful sausage, beans. Tomatoes and mushrooms on next day. Could pre-order hash browns and bread pudding etc.

This place's saving grace is the extremely pleasant and font of all knowledge waitress/manageress? With the Australian accent. Really helpful and couldn't do enough for us, got us maps and drew routes etc. Dunster is a lovely village and would recommend a stay here to anyone. We walked around the streets, the castle grounds and down to the stream. There are loads of walks to be done, some quite easy, all marked out on the maps. There was a steam rally on so we drove down to Dunster railway station which was lovely and preserved, old suitcases stacked up, memorabilia and 'stuff'; all really quaint. Got steam train just one stop to Minehead where we had a stroll round then came back again and sat on Dunster beach - huge and unspoilt with just a sandwich and drinks van.

In the evening we had a meal at the Luttrell Arms. This is a beautiful old building and very popular - the staff are very friendly but there's not enough of them. The food wasn't exceptional but there was plenty of it and good value. We visited the next day after our day on the beach again, to the 'Secret Garden' which had been recommended by our australian lady. This is through the Luttrell Arms, UP some stairs at the back and its a very pretty garden area with tables and chairs and a glorious view. This place is also 'pet friendly', which is fine if they would clear up their pooch's mess - I nearly put my bag down on a pile of it. Not pleasant.

All in all we had a wonderful weekend despite the annexe experience. We usually pay around £200-£250 so its not the money; we paid £90 per night and this wasn't worth it but it was worth it to be able to stay in Dunster 'last minute'! Charming place.

Room Tip: Don't think there are any.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LetsRetireSoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

I damaged my car. Anthony, the proprietor, called a passing garage man for a quick inspection and then piloted me to the garage and brought me back in the hotel's car. Repeated in reverse by Nigel when the car was ready. Accommodation and food was good and the service was outstanding.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews