We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location for exploring the Brendon Hills”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Damson Cottage

Damson Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Damson Cottage
High Street Dunster Dunster village
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Damson Cottage
High Street Dunster
Dunster village
Living room
Window seat
Dining Kitchen
Garden
View from the garden
Snug
Teal bedroom
Middle bedroom
Twin bedroom
Cottage window
West Somerset Steam Railway, near Dunster
Priory Church Dunster
Sunset by Dunster Beach
Exmoor
Dunster Castle
Gallox bridge, Dunster
Damson and Rose
Exmoor ponies, near Porlock
Upper end of West Street
West Street at night
Deer on moor above Dunster
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dunster, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mark H
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect location for exploring the Brendon Hills”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We were looking for accommodation in Dunster for a mountain biking weekend exploring the Brendon Hills and Exmoor. Damson Cottage was a great find with all the facilities we wanted with room for a fair sized group with all their biking clutter. The bedrooms are well furnished and beds were comfortable - essential but not always the case! The large living room was perfect for post-ride, pre-pub lounging and the bright, well equipped kitchen made easy work of the ample cooked breakfasts required for long days in the saddle.

Dunster itself is a bit on the twee side but has plenty of pubs and places to eat - but no ATM! It's a beautiful spot and makes a great base for exploring the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location and good facilities
Liked least: Parking is tricky in Dunster, but that's not the cottage's fault!
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 19, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Glad that you enjoyed your stay. I will see if anyone in the village has any suggestions re getting a cash machine. Otherwise nearest will remain in Minehead, 2 miles away.
Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOwensF...
Llanelli, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in a lovely location!”
Reviewed August 22, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for five nights in August and had a very comfortable stay at Damson Cottage. It is very well equipped with everything we needed for our stay. It has a lovely, long garden and plenty of room inside. The cottage is located in the medieval village of Dunster, which is a quiet village with a good selection of restaurants and pubs, with the local shops definitely worth a visit! Dunster is also well located for visiting other parts of Somerset and Devon.
We had a lovely stay and would consider returning in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika M
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Die kleinen Nischen und Zimmer z. B. zum lesen und sich zurück zu ziehen
Liked least: Wie wir die Küche angetroffen haben. Dass sich die Inhaberin nicht sehen lies.
Traveling group: Freunden
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nein.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2015
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you had some problems with your stay. We do provide instructions for the central heating and I have checked that the downstairs bath is working ok. If some of the cleaning in the kitchen was not up to standard on this occasion, I can only apologise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$84
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing