We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place but has become very expensive”
Review of The Luttrell Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Luttrell Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dunster
Certificate of Excellence
Minehead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful place but has become very expensive”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We have been visiting the Lutterall Arms for years as we have family in the area, but OMG the price of drinks are so expensive... £17.20 for 2 pints of lager, 1 white wine and a port and lemon. So as locals these prices mean the Lutterall is no longer a place for regular visits during the summer (or winter months) - real shame.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunster_Local
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor. I am sorry that you found the drinks to be expensive, it did strike us as a little expensive but when I explored the bill it seems that there was no mistake.
A pint of lager is between £3.60 or £4.50 depending on whether you are having a premium lager, we serve a large selection of wines by the glass and as you can imagine, they vary. A small glass of pinot grigio is £4.30 whilst a large glass of New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc is considerably more. A glass of port is £2.20 or £3.70 depending on your personal preference; all this combined does soon adds up.
We realise that we are at the higher end of the market but we hope that our customers do find that we offer value for money, professional service and high quality products. We are not a pub after all, we pride ourselves on the level of service we deliver and in being a first class hotel. I hope that you will visit again and make yourself known to me, Becca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    156
    39
    27
    14
See reviews for
114
383
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Superb hotel, excellent food and wonderful staff. Charlotte couldn't be more helpful. The most dog friendly hotel anyone could wish for. Our dog was bitten by another dog whilst we were in Minehead, Christine patched her up and Fran came back on her night off to bring her some treatment from home. I can't recommend this hotel enough and can't wait to return

Room Tip: If you have a dog the superior room was great as it had terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor. I am sorry that you found the drinks to be expensive, it did strike us as a little expensive but when I explored the bill it seems that there was no mistake.
A pint of lager is between £3.60 or £4.50 depending on whether you are having a premium lager, we serve a large selection of wines by the glass and as you can imagine, they vary. A small glass of pinot grigio is £4.30 whilst a large glass of New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc is considerably more. A glass of port is £2.20 or £3.70 depending on your personal preference; all this combined does soon adds up.
We realise that we are at the higher end of the market but we hope that our customers do find that we offer value for money, professional service and high quality products. We are not a pub after all, we pride ourselves on the level of service we deliver and in being a beautiful hotel. I hope that you will visit again, please make yourself known to a member of management and we will en devour to ensure you receive good value from us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Very interesting, old and atmospheric pub. Was busy but we were served quickly and found seats. Otter Amber was good and the fish and chips were excellent. Would definitely visit again if in the area. We used bar and ate bar food but there was a posh restaurant too.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Can't fault anything about this hotel (except perhaps the lack of parking). We got married and spent our wedding night there recently and have already been back for another night! The staff are warm and welcoming, the rooms are superb, the food is excellent and the overall ambience is faultless for a romantic break. Can highly recommend Room 17, with it's four-poster bed, beams, and oak panelling for a romantic night away! Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Room 17 very romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda -
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for all the nice things you say, if we had known it was your honeymoon we would have tried to make it even more special… we do breakfast in bed or room service for all your meals if that’s what you fancy!!!
At the moment lots of people are opting for breakfast al fresco on the lower terrace with that magical view of the castle!
As regards to parking we have a number of parking permits for you to use during your stay. Just mention that you would like one and you can park free of charge in the main car park
We look forward to seeing you for your first anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
Level Contributor
197 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We do like this hotel, and the new management are improving it every time we visit.
The restaurant meal in the evening was great, a very big improvement on our last visit. The treacle tart is without doubt the finest I have had anywhere. And I've had a lot !!!!!!
Breakfast great as well, staff friendly and helpful.
We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaz-b98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Sorry it has taken me so long to reply but thanks for coming and saying all those nice things. Yes we think we have cracked it but we aren’t going to take our eye off the ball! We are only as good as the last meal we've served or the last pint we've poured.
Many thanks once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed for a weekend at this great hotel. Really friendly staff and great room and food. Isn't cheap but great service in a beautiful location. Dog friendly hotel but equally very clean with a lovely secret garden.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewR922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night in this beautiful hotel, right in the heart of Exmoor, in the picturesque village of Dunster.The bedroom was well furnished, very clean and comfortable.Breakfast was extra, as we had a half price deal for the room and offered a good choice of cereals, juice etc plus a good English breakfast.
The hotel oozes charm and we felt that it was easily the best we had stayed in and hope to stay for longer on a return visit! Fabulous!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
22.5 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
17.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
13.8 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Luttrell Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Luttrell Arms

Property: The Luttrell Arms
Address: 32-36 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dunster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Luttrell Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luttrell Arms is a 3 star, 28 room hotel. Set in the medieval village of Dunster with its many interesting buildings, under the shadow of the Castle and within the Exmoor National Park. The privately owned 14th century Luttrell Arms is surrounded by beautiful countryside making it the ideal destination for that weekend break or midweek getaway. Stroll around the village, walk the moor, or just sit by a log fire in a building where hospitality has been a way of life for hundreds of years. Heritage "If you could bottle the air in the bar at the Luttrell Arms and sell it you'd clean up" so wrote a local journalist. The smell of logs burning on the fire, a hint of hops from the pints of ale, add to this the smell of something aromatic being cooked in the kitchen, and the most essential element - the smell of history, it oozes out of the walls which have stood for 800 years. There are many outstanding architectural features, the medieval hall with its hammer beam roof (room 17) and twelve light window. History seeps out of the blackened frames, which had their glass rattled loose as Cromwell’s gunners laid siege to Dunster Castle from a defended strong point at the end of the garden. Cromwell’s Commander, Col. Robert Blake walked the corridors of the hotel, it was then called the Ship Inn and was used as his headquarters throughout the siege of the castle. Also of note is some very fine plasterwork on the ceiling of the lounge downstairs, and the plaster over mantle in room 12, showing Actaeon being devoured by hounds. The Arms of Luttrell that we use today carry us back to a Gentleman of 1261, the crest takes us only back to 1621, but the supporters are directly derived from one of the Barons who coerced King John into sealing Magna Carta. A more modern visitor is Hercule Poirot. In "The Cornish Mystery" he confronts the murderer in one of the hotel’s bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Luttrell Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Luttrell Arms Hotel Dunster
Luttrell Arms Hotel Dunster
Luttrell Arms Dunster
The Luttrell Arms Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing