We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another happy stay in this beautiful old hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Luttrell Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Luttrell Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dunster
Certificate of Excellence
worcestershire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Another happy stay in this beautiful old hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

We have stayed at The Luttrell for many years, through good times and bad, the new owners are carrying out much needed repairs and with a building of this age it must be an uphill battle. There have been many improvements made, most of them long over due but I hope that this wonderful old place retains it's unique charm. The staff were attentive and friendly, food has been much improved, the breakfast was very good, we ate in the bar every night, mainly to please our dog, who loves to visit The Lutterall and as always was made very welcome.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonmin_troll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    152
    37
    25
    13
See reviews for
107
376
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed here in early October. Our room was at the front and one of the larger rooms with a sofa and chairs. The bed was big, lovely and comfy though it was 2 singles zipped together and had a slight dip in the middle because of this! The room was lovely and warm because it was cold outside. Hot water plentiful in the spacious and clean bathroom. The only small improvements I'd suggest would be a glass shower screen - which can be cleaned - rather than the unhygienic plastic shower curtains which always look grubby in hotels, and a hook on the bathroom door for bath robes etc.

The bar had a roaring log fire and an old world charm so please don't change this by ditching the mis-matched furniture for something more sanitised! The bar food was fine but one of our party had a meal from the restaurant menu and it was disappointing. A little more variety on the bar menu would be great such as local fish. Breakfasts were good- plenty of choice and can be served in your room if you prefer. The only criticism of the building was there was some noise from either smokers or staff who congregated outside under our bathroom window- the noise of loud conversations travels upwards if no one else has noticed!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

A group of us stayed in October, were given a private dining room and were looked after wonderfully. The staff made us very welcome, the food first class. Rooms really comfortable and as you would expect spotlessly clean. We will return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary4407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
152 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed here in October, and were very impressed. The new(ish) Owners are refurbishing the hotel, and doing a good job. The hotel is old, so there are creaking floors, and odd sized rooms, but that you would expect. We had booked a large room with King size bed, and got room 14. This room is enormous, King size four poster bed, large sitting area, with sofa and chairs, fireplace and window seat. Also this room has a 'writing room', off the bedroom which is the oldest part of the hotel, and has a desk, and 3 windows overlooking the castle and high street. Very attractive. The room was clean and had plenty of storage, Big bathroom, with good size bath (excellent), and bidet.We had breakfast, included which was first class. Fruit, cereal, juices and selection of cooked breakfast. Nice airy breakfast room.

The staff were very helpful. They even managed to get us an extension cable at 10.00 at night, by raiding the outside electricity store. At breakfast Robyn was very helpful, being attentive and heplful,without intruding. As mentioned, parking is difficult, you can only park in the High St, which in summer must be difficult. However, we were given a free pass for the town car park, which is about 500 yards away. The Hotel is on the corner of the main road, and there is quite a lot of traffic. Our room looked out onto the road, but the noise was not a problem. Could be different in the summer, There was some people noise, as our door was at the top of the stairs, so you goy some noise from people coming and going from the bar, and going upstairs, however this is not a place for bright young things, so noise fairly minimal. The hotel is away from the church, so no problem with the allnight clock!

We had 3 nights for the price of two which made the stay exceptional value, and we will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lteast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Our standard of service is very important to us and we have passed your kind comments onto Robyn in particular and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mids
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Just back from a lovely 2 night break at The Luttrell Arms. Very welcoming and nice atmosphere in bar, food good, bedroom was spotless and bathroom pristine. Would definitely return. Great location and everything in walking distance (once you have parked!)

Room Tip: Room 10 would be great if you have a dog with you with easy access to the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuluWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Historic and impressive building, delightful interior, location amazing, staff helpful, food beyond dreadful. We had lunch there today and I am hard pressed to think of worse food I've experienced being served in this country. Ever. Nil points... Up your act in the kitchen guys.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank fiona s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We decided to get away for a few days and also get some business done at the same time, upon arriving parking was difficult but we were pre warned and although a late turn up the night man was waiting for us along with genuine smiles and a warm welcome he also carried our bags all the way to the top floor for us!
Grand start after an awful journey!
we came back down and although late we decided to have a couple of glasses of wine as we deserved it.
again nothing was too much trouble and Martin had us laughing in no time , lovely Guy and funny too.
next morning the breakfast was lovely opting for a full English! Cooked to perfection a lovely attentive young red headed girl served us although she was busy she was very efficient and with good manners!
after seeing the sites in the quaint surroundings of the town and some shopping we tried reeves a few doors down, food was lovely but expensive, we tried the food in the hotel restaurant it was perfect in every way including the price!!
The hotel itself is superb and gorgeous has great atmosphere with roaring fire places that are sublime, although this is a three star hotel you get five star service! it oozes class and has wonderful history and features.
upon leaving we met the manager Tim! A thoughahly lovely Guy and although busy with tools in his hands he had time for us! All I can is We will be back again in the future and can't wait and hope to see some of the same faces.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clonditegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
22.5 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
17.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
13.8 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Luttrell Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Luttrell Arms

Property: The Luttrell Arms
Address: 32-36 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dunster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Luttrell Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luttrell Arms is a 3 star, 28 room hotel. Set in the medieval village of Dunster with its many interesting buildings, under the shadow of the Castle and within the Exmoor National Park. The privately owned 14th century Luttrell Arms is surrounded by beautiful countryside making it the ideal destination for that weekend break or midweek getaway. Stroll around the village, walk the moor, or just sit by a log fire in a building where hospitality has been a way of life for hundreds of years. Heritage "If you could bottle the air in the bar at the Luttrell Arms and sell it you'd clean up" so wrote a local journalist. The smell of logs burning on the fire, a hint of hops from the pints of ale, add to this the smell of something aromatic being cooked in the kitchen, and the most essential element - the smell of history, it oozes out of the walls which have stood for 800 years. There are many outstanding architectural features, the medieval hall with its hammer beam roof (room 17) and twelve light window. History seeps out of the blackened frames, which had their glass rattled loose as Cromwell’s gunners laid siege to Dunster Castle from a defended strong point at the end of the garden. Cromwell’s Commander, Col. Robert Blake walked the corridors of the hotel, it was then called the Ship Inn and was used as his headquarters throughout the siege of the castle. Also of note is some very fine plasterwork on the ceiling of the lounge downstairs, and the plaster over mantle in room 12, showing Actaeon being devoured by hounds. The Arms of Luttrell that we use today carry us back to a Gentleman of 1261, the crest takes us only back to 1621, but the supporters are directly derived from one of the Barons who coerced King John into sealing Magna Carta. A more modern visitor is Hercule Poirot. In "The Cornish Mystery" he confronts the murderer in one of the hotel’s bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Luttrell Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Luttrell Arms Hotel Dunster
Luttrell Arms Hotel Dunster
Luttrell Arms Dunster
The Luttrell Arms Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing