We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Dinner treat”
Review of The Luttrell Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Luttrell Arms
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Excellent well balanced menu, tempting selection of seasonal products. Interesting food combinations, the figs with blue cheese and raspberries worked really well. Delightful staff, excellent service, backed up by a professional kitchen brigade who delivered hot food with precision timing.
We dined in the restaurant, but you can dine pretty much anywhere, very relaxed welcoming atmosphere.
Very good prices, starters around £5 to £6, mains around £10 to £15, we expected the bill to be more very pleased with our evening. We will return.

Room Tip: Dine in the restaurant, its bright airy and the window open too! So if you need a breath of fresh a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Carole-Coventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becca W, Owner at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind remarks and the nice things you said about the restaurant.
It is good value for money and nice to treat yourselves. We do a celebration special on a Sunday at even better value which includes a chocolate heart and prosecco in your room on arrival and bed and breakfast all for only £90 for two people on a Sunday night!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (756)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

707 - 713 of 757 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have stayed here for many years. We like atmosphere, comfort, good simple food with quality ingredients, good and friendly service and we like to take our dogs. None of this has been taken away by the new owners. In fact, they have found enhancements where we originally felt none were needed. Spruced up furnishings, the gardens have been expanded and re-arranged. Dogs were just as welcome as before. The ability to now eat outside in the gardens is a welcome development, although eating in the bar as before is still just as good. Good to see some of the previous staff are still there; and new ones coming along. And, most importantly for me, there are still teapots in the rooms! And it was good to have a table outside our room (Room 10) where we could sit in the evening. Clearly they have more developments to come but, so far, so very good.

Room Tip: Choose room 10 if you have dogs as immediate access to the outside from your own door. There are oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becca W, Owner at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for the glowing review. Many people love room 10 especially dog owners!! We are delighted that we have kept you as valued customers. With the fine weather at the moment we have introduced breakfast in the garden as well. This is going very well making the most of the weather and the views not to mention ideal for dog owners! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. We have added a couple more rooms with direct garden access for dog owners rooms 33 & 34 so see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed in room 30. Nothing flash but very comfortable. Clean, nice bathroom, very hot bath! No wifi in the room, patchy in the public rooms but I believe they are improving this. We really stayed because of the fabulous, very English bar. Great food, lots of real ales and a log fire, in June! Loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becca W, Owner at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for your kind response we have just finished the installation of a hard wired broad band WiFi for all the rooms, this will not only resolve the WiFi issue but change the TV into a computer with a selection of games and access to the internet. This and the role out of high speed broadband should resolve all our problems!! Sorry about the need for fires in June. As an aside we have just installed ten new Hypnos beds for improved sleep quality...as used by the queen!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The 3 of us decided to have Sunday lunch at the hotel. There were a few people there but not overly busy. We ordered the meal and a bottle of wine. About 45 minutes later we noticed people who came in after us were getting served their meals. One of us went up to the bar to see what was going on. They apologized and the meals came about 10 minutes later.
We obviously had what was left over. Dried up beef, 2 tiny potatoes and the same amount of veg that a table of 2 were getting.
They did give us the 2nd bottle of wine for free and a big apology again. Now we didn't have time to go around the castle and gardens because we had to catch a train.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mark f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becca W, Owner at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

What can we say, we are truly sorry when someone leaves the Luttrell arms unhappy. We are really addressing Sunday lunches not just by throwing more staff at the issue but looking at what we offer and how we manage Sundays. Please remember we have only owned the hotel for 5 months and there will be teething troubles but do come back and see how we have changed!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Me and my wife came here searching for a romantic weekend away . The building is beautiful and our room was lovely and very clean . But they really need to sort out the staff as we was kept waiting at the front desk for quiet a while as this surprised us as it was un attended to be honest the staff seem to avoid customers which is a shame and then me and my wife and another couple were very shocked to hear the barman moaning about a customer in front of us within earshot of us and the other couple to another member of staff . The breakfast was pretty bad . and when we left there was no one again at the front desk to hand our keys into . We had a tap which did not work either which is indeed a shame and there was no one around to tell . But besides all these things it never spoilt our stay because the building is beautiful the roaring fires are amazing please please sort the staff out and this will be the place to stay it is the service that is the problem this hotel deserves much better i hope the owners sort the staff out .Because i really want to come back .But not sure i will if things do not change

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glen968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becca W, Owner at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Luttrell Arms and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
As regards to the staffing issues, we are always sorry when things don’t meet expectations. We have only owned the hotel for 5 months and we are committed to upping service and facility levels
The next time you decide to visit please phone me personally and ask for me, I will be happy to show you how much we have have improved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The hotel has been in decline for many years and so it was with great anticipation that we were looking forward to the new owners who already have a good reputation running 2 establishments in South Devon. A lot of money, time and effort has been spent in decorating and refurbishing the hotel but it is such a shame that the same amount of effort has not gone into service and the management of the staff. We had a family party for Sunday lunch and although the food was excellent the service was lacking and there did not appear to be any management of the staff, although there was a smart young man wandering around but not overseeing the restaurant staff, who in themselves were trying to do a good job. There were 3 small children in our party and instead of them being served first, so that their parents could get them settled with their food, they had to wait until well after the adults had started their meals. Although we were seated at 12.00 it took a long while to get served and one of the desserts had run out when the time came to order. It seemed that there was more priority in the bar area than the restaurant.
I don't know if the new owners have a permanent presence in the hotel, because it is needed. I am sure that it will all get sorted out in time, but with such anticipation of a new beginning for the hotel, it was a bit of a disappointment.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trickydicky43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Building - dining room - court yard - beautiful!! Alas the service was amateurish, and paying the bill took ages. The starter - salad had no dressing at all; lamb main was overcooked; the drinks order was mixed up and we had to ask for water more than once.With more attention to detail in many areas this could be a great venue! Good luck.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Netgezien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.1 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunster
205 reviews
22.5 mi away
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
258 reviews
17.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
494 reviews
3.5 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Luttrell Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Luttrell Arms

Address: 32-36 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunster
Price Range: $123 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Luttrell Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luttrell Arms is a 3 star, 28 room hotel. Set in the medieval village of Dunster with its many interesting buildings, under the shadow of the Castle and within the Exmoor National Park. The privately owned 14th century Luttrell Arms is surrounded by beautiful countryside making it the ideal destination for that weekend break or midweek getaway. Stroll around the village, walk the moor, or just sit by a log fire in a building where hospitality has been a way of life for hundreds of years. Heritage "If you could bottle the air in the bar at the Luttrell Arms and sell it you'd clean up" so wrote a local journalist. The smell of logs burning on the fire, a hint of hops from the pints of ale, add to this the smell of something aromatic being cooked in the kitchen, and the most essential element - the smell of history, it oozes out of the walls which have stood for 800 years. There are many outstanding architectural features, the medieval hall with its hammer beam roof (room 17) and twelve light window. History seeps out of the blackened frames, which had their glass rattled loose as Cromwell’s gunners laid siege to Dunster Castle from a defended strong point at the end of the garden. Cromwell’s Commander, Col. Robert Blake walked the corridors of the hotel, it was then called the Ship Inn and was used as his headquarters throughout the siege of the castle. Also of note is some very fine plasterwork on the ceiling of the lounge downstairs, and the plaster over mantle in room 12, showing Actaeon being devoured by hounds. The Arms of Luttrell that we use today carry us back to a Gentleman of 1261, the crest takes us only back to 1621, but the supporters are directly derived from one of the Barons who coerced King John into sealing Magna Carta. A more modern visitor is Hercule Poirot. In "The Cornish Mystery" he confronts the murderer in one of the hotel’s bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Luttrell Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Luttrell Arms Hotel Dunster
Luttrell Arms Hotel Dunster
Luttrell Arms Dunster
The Luttrell Arms Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing