We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sunday roast”
Review of The Luttrell Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Luttrell Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dunster
Certificate of Excellence
Torpoint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“sunday roast”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The 3 of us decided to have Sunday lunch at the hotel. There were a few people there but not overly busy. We ordered the meal and a bottle of wine. About 45 minutes later we noticed people who came in after us were getting served their meals. One of us went up to the bar to see what was going on. They apologized and the meals came about 10 minutes later.
We obviously had what was left over. Dried up beef, 2 tiny potatoes and the same amount of veg that a table of 2 were getting.
They did give us the 2nd bottle of wine for free and a big apology again. Now we didn't have time to go around the castle and gardens because we had to catch a train.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mark f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becca W, Owner at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
What can we say, we are truly sorry when someone leaves the Luttrell arms unhappy. We are really addressing Sunday lunches not just by throwing more staff at the issue but looking at what we offer and how we manage Sundays. Please remember we have only owned the hotel for 5 months and there will be teething troubles but do come back and see how we have changed!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    157
    41
    28
    14
See reviews for
116
389
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Me and my wife came here searching for a romantic weekend away . The building is beautiful and our room was lovely and very clean . But they really need to sort out the staff as we was kept waiting at the front desk for quiet a while as this surprised us as it was un attended to be honest the staff seem to avoid customers which is a shame and then me and my wife and another couple were very shocked to hear the barman moaning about a customer in front of us within earshot of us and the other couple to another member of staff . The breakfast was pretty bad . and when we left there was no one again at the front desk to hand our keys into . We had a tap which did not work either which is indeed a shame and there was no one around to tell . But besides all these things it never spoilt our stay because the building is beautiful the roaring fires are amazing please please sort the staff out and this will be the place to stay it is the service that is the problem this hotel deserves much better i hope the owners sort the staff out .Because i really want to come back .But not sure i will if things do not change

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becca W, Owner at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Luttrell Arms and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
As regards to the staffing issues, we are always sorry when things don’t meet expectations. We have only owned the hotel for 5 months and we are committed to upping service and facility levels
The next time you decide to visit please phone me personally and ask for me, I will be happy to show you how much we have have improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The hotel has been in decline for many years and so it was with great anticipation that we were looking forward to the new owners who already have a good reputation running 2 establishments in South Devon. A lot of money, time and effort has been spent in decorating and refurbishing the hotel but it is such a shame that the same amount of effort has not gone into service and the management of the staff. We had a family party for Sunday lunch and although the food was excellent the service was lacking and there did not appear to be any management of the staff, although there was a smart young man wandering around but not overseeing the restaurant staff, who in themselves were trying to do a good job. There were 3 small children in our party and instead of them being served first, so that their parents could get them settled with their food, they had to wait until well after the adults had started their meals. Although we were seated at 12.00 it took a long while to get served and one of the desserts had run out when the time came to order. It seemed that there was more priority in the bar area than the restaurant.
I don't know if the new owners have a permanent presence in the hotel, because it is needed. I am sure that it will all get sorted out in time, but with such anticipation of a new beginning for the hotel, it was a bit of a disappointment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trickydicky43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Building - dining room - court yard - beautiful!! Alas the service was amateurish, and paying the bill took ages. The starter - salad had no dressing at all; lamb main was overcooked; the drinks order was mixed up and we had to ask for water more than once.With more attention to detail in many areas this could be a great venue! Good luck.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Netgezien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

A group of nine retired friends and former work colleagues travelled on the train to the Luttrell Arms last Tuesday for a superb lunch and drinks. We sat in the courtyard in the gorgeous sunshine and had a wonderful time of laughter and fellowship. The food, drink and service from the excellent friendly staff helped make this a visit to remember. Nigel Way and his team have done a great job in improving the customer experience. Well Done! We will be back next year. Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

That's an old hotel, indeed. However for this price it is very annoying to smell and see the dirt, especially in the room, that are due to i suspect for a very poor cleaning activity. I didnt like to stay there, at all.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Adorján K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
I am really sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us here at the Luttrell Arms. We were all surprised and disappointed by your remarks regarding the cleanliness of the hotel and our bedrooms. Our housekeeping team are often complimented on the standard of cleanliness around the hotel and I was shocked at you comments. Upon reading your review we have carried out further intensive deep cleaning in an effort to elevate any further remarks like this but failed to see what could have upset you so much. It is an extremely old building and we are currently undergoing a lot of renovation work which does at times cause some dust but we are making every effort to keep on top of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had booked this hotel for a couple of nights as we had a family funeral to attend locally and what a warm welcome we received.
We had the most fabulous room ( 14) complete with an enormous 4 poster , really full of character and very comfortable.

Great atmosphere in bars, we had a lovely meal in the restaurant and also sampled a wonderful curry night special on the Tuesday.

This is a beautiful old hotel , the new owners are very much ' hands on' and we hope to return again soon, perhaps for one of their ' Fawlty Towers ' evenings.

Room Tip: Choose a 4 poster room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We also can’t wait for our Fawlty Towers Night, it should be great fun. It has sold out extremely quickly so we have booked another date shortly after (July 11th) to try to accommodate everyone! We look forward to seeing you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
22.5 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
561 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
188 reviews
3.5 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
320 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
270 reviews
2.2 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Luttrell Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Luttrell Arms

Property: The Luttrell Arms
Address: 32-36 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dunster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Luttrell Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luttrell Arms is a 3 star, 28 room hotel. Set in the medieval village of Dunster with its many interesting buildings, under the shadow of the Castle and within the Exmoor National Park. The privately owned 14th century Luttrell Arms is surrounded by beautiful countryside making it the ideal destination for that weekend break or midweek getaway. Stroll around the village, walk the moor, or just sit by a log fire in a building where hospitality has been a way of life for hundreds of years. Heritage "If you could bottle the air in the bar at the Luttrell Arms and sell it you'd clean up" so wrote a local journalist. The smell of logs burning on the fire, a hint of hops from the pints of ale, add to this the smell of something aromatic being cooked in the kitchen, and the most essential element - the smell of history, it oozes out of the walls which have stood for 800 years. There are many outstanding architectural features, the medieval hall with its hammer beam roof (room 17) and twelve light window. History seeps out of the blackened frames, which had their glass rattled loose as Cromwell’s gunners laid siege to Dunster Castle from a defended strong point at the end of the garden. Cromwell’s Commander, Col. Robert Blake walked the corridors of the hotel, it was then called the Ship Inn and was used as his headquarters throughout the siege of the castle. Also of note is some very fine plasterwork on the ceiling of the lounge downstairs, and the plaster over mantle in room 12, showing Actaeon being devoured by hounds. The Arms of Luttrell that we use today carry us back to a Gentleman of 1261, the crest takes us only back to 1621, but the supporters are directly derived from one of the Barons who coerced King John into sealing Magna Carta. A more modern visitor is Hercule Poirot. In "The Cornish Mystery" he confronts the murderer in one of the hotel’s bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Luttrell Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Luttrell Arms Hotel Dunster
Luttrell Arms Hotel Dunster
Luttrell Arms Dunster
The Luttrell Arms Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing