We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Locals/Bar Staff and Good Food”
Review of The Lion Inn - CLOSED

The Lion Inn
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly Locals/Bar Staff and Good Food”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Coming to the end of our stay in Timberscombe and have been to The Lion Inn at least four times in the week we've been here.

Bar staff and waitresses extremely welcoming and friendly. Great local ales.

We've eaten here twice. Tonight will be the last night and the third we've eaten here. Sunday was roast for 4. Beef and chicken were lovely as were the puds. Fast service, very reasonably priced.

Last night Sea Bass and Lasagne plus starters. Again couldn't be faulted. Good pub food, home cooked and locally sourced. Thd only downside will be the diet I'll have to go on when I get home. Especially after tonight!

Did spot a few things Vegetarian options on the menu, so a little bit surprised at a past review. However the pub may have seen this review and decided to add the Vegetarian options to the menu since it was added earlier in the year.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarahsjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    0
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great local pub with real pub food”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We went to Then Lion last week with visiting relatives and had a really nice evening. We were made very welcome and there was a good range of beers and a couple of ciders.

We all had meals which were freshly prepared, very tasty and good value. Deserts were particularly popular!

This is a great "local" and we'll be back soon I hope.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RosandaHouseMinehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very Friendly”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Visited The Lion on three evenings whilst staying at rental property in Timberscombe. A very warm welcome, and everyone was very frinedly. It was obvious that four legged friends were also welcome and our Spaniel was made at home. Ate on the Saturday night where we booked table. Food was served promptly, was freshly cooked and of excellent quality. Would recommend to anyone staying locally, And would re visit if we are in the area again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent traditional pub”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed in a holiday cottage in the village and ate 3 times in the pub. The food was good honest pub grub, served piping hot an at a reasonable price. The atmosphere was most welcoming. Dogs are welcome, but there are clearly defined areas where they are not allowed which is very fair. We will certainly return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerryp186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Looked a bit scary”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We were going to book here but were advised against it by our holiday rental owners who directed us up the road to the Royal Oak at Luxborough. I am very pleased as we drove past later that evening and it looked pretty empty and soul less. Cant comment on the food but the atmosphere was not attracting me in.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank CBTraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lion Inn also viewed

Dunster, Exmoor National Park
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
 
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing