We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bonus gem in the castle grounds”
Review of Dunster Water Mill

Dunster Water Mill
Ranked #11 of 17 Restaurants in Dunster
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
loughborough
Level Contributor
421 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Bonus gem in the castle grounds”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Now managed and being restored by the national trust this is a working mill with unusual architectural features that add to the romantic setting. In working orde but awaiting the installation of a second waterwheel which makes this watermill very different to the standard mill. Tea rooms nearby dont miss them we did and it is quite a walk from the castle back down the hillside.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kishere t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    44
    12
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
99 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Tea and scenery”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great tea and cakes but dispite having 3staff serving and one in the kitchen they were so slow only a few people sitting in the magnificent garden the staff had to be reminded of the order and still took another 10mins to find one tea one coke ,

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Sunshine, garden and delicious lunch”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We visited the Water Mill after a walk through Dunster Castle gardens. Lunch was a delicious 3 different smoked fillets of fish, plus potato salad, coleslaw and fresh garden salad. Meal was delicious and good portions. We sat in the garden in sunshine eating our meal and enjoying the butterflies and birds around us.
We would recommend a visit and a meal
Rose and Peter
Australia

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseRRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful tearoom Gorgeous Gardem”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Stumbled across this gorgeous tearoom today ... If you want home cooked - and I mean proper home cooked ! - food then this is the place delightful service in absolutely lovely surroundings ... We ate in the quintessentially English garden... If that's what you would like Then make sure you eat here .. I had a ploughmans lunch .. The ham was thick sliced and tasty and I added a portion of Stilton cheese (thinking I would get a "slice" as with most places) the wedge I got could have held open my door !!! Brilliant ... My partner had ham and chicken pie that was to die for ! Great place !

Helpful?
Thank Martinrjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sampford Brett
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth the walk for an excellent cream tea”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful late lunch / cream tea in the mill tea room garden which now has the quality and service to match it's wonderful location. Great value for money and better than most of offerings in the village. Dunster as a whole needs to up it's game as it's not a bucket and spade, kiss me quick, chips with everything location and can raise standards (and prices) accordingly people will pay for quality and service!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SomersetBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunster Water Mill also viewed

Dunster, Exmoor National Park
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
 
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
 
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Dunster Water Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing