We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunshine, garden and delicious lunch”
Review of Dunster Water Mill

Dunster Water Mill
Ranked #11 of 17 Restaurants in Dunster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Sunshine, garden and delicious lunch”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We visited the Water Mill after a walk through Dunster Castle gardens. Lunch was a delicious 3 different smoked fillets of fish, plus potato salad, coleslaw and fresh garden salad. Meal was delicious and good portions. We sat in the garden in sunshine eating our meal and enjoying the butterflies and birds around us.
We would recommend a visit and a meal
Rose and Peter
Australia

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseRRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    42
    12
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful tearoom Gorgeous Gardem”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Stumbled across this gorgeous tearoom today ... If you want home cooked - and I mean proper home cooked ! - food then this is the place delightful service in absolutely lovely surroundings ... We ate in the quintessentially English garden... If that's what you would like Then make sure you eat here .. I had a ploughmans lunch .. The ham was thick sliced and tasty and I added a portion of Stilton cheese (thinking I would get a "slice" as with most places) the wedge I got could have held open my door !!! Brilliant ... My partner had ham and chicken pie that was to die for ! Great place !

Helpful?
Thank Martinrjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sampford Brett
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth the walk for an excellent cream tea”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful late lunch / cream tea in the mill tea room garden which now has the quality and service to match it's wonderful location. Great value for money and better than most of offerings in the village. Dunster as a whole needs to up it's game as it's not a bucket and spade, kiss me quick, chips with everything location and can raise standards (and prices) accordingly people will pay for quality and service!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SomersetBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsager, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Looking for tea rooms”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Once the NT get the mill working it will be a delightful attraction but at present it hasn't got it neither has it got it with fund raising, raffle tickets in the main house for a new water wheel. Perhaps woodwork and metal work training encouragement for the young with grants from the state, mill/ wheelwright carpentry/ joinery etc. I would then donate! Oh, a bye the way' stop charging kids to go into the attractions! Great tea rooms beyond the mill with plenty of youth involved!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tomsksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
215 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Lovely venue for a cream tea”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Lovely venue for a cream tea, with two large scones, lots of cream, strawberry jam and strong tea. Pleasant welcome and attentive and prompt service from the young staff, and all for a reasonable price.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveBrissle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunster Water Mill also viewed

Dunster, Exmoor National Park
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
 
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Dunster Water Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing