We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in West Somerset”
Review of Reeves Restaurant

Reeves Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Dunster
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Minehead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best in West Somerset”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Had a brilliant evening. Booked my husbands surprise 40th Birthday as we both love this restaurant. There was 28 of us (a rowdy chrowd) and nothing was too much trouble. The staff were truely amazing and friendly. Due to the amount of us thought we would have problems with food being served to each of us at the same time, but this was not the case. Everyone had their meal pretty much at the same time, drinks were served promptly. The food was lush and everyone had a fantastic evening. Thank you to Claire and Justin for setting up their fine restaurant in West Somerset! :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maxcox68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    60
    15
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Porlock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just as good as ever.”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Returned to Reeves for Sunday lunch and were again not disappointed.
The food, as ever, was outstanding, underlying Justin's continued culinary brilliance.
They front of house team were on form enhancing the whole experience.
Try the Sea Bass or Roast Pork, we did, fantastic.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JLTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsager, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Dinners during our stay in Dunster”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

As we were staying in a B&B it was prudent to eat at the local restaurants so we picked this one on the second evening. We were not expecting a lot of quality, so were very happily surprised at the high quality, firstly very courteous staff of which appeared to be only two, the rooms were very clean and whilst had old world charm the furnishings were modern.
I had moules in a garlic sauce and my wife scallops and black pudding followed by turbot and my wife sirloin steak, all very well presented and tasty, oh yes canapés served as well as bread and a jug of water offered....good form! Coffee and chocolates was excellent as coffee in these places can be so often a let down,literally ,
So, we decided to return the following evening as we were told they were preparing lobster and that would make it special for my wife's birthday. We arrived and were well greeted,low and behold the table was decorated with birthday greetings. The waiter was very thoughtful throughout.
We decided on no alcohol or starter but changed our minds to Champagne and then calamari which was very good followed by lobster salad for two. Never have we had eaten such big lobster claws anywhere! First class all round!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tomsksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cozy, good food and service”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We visited for lunch as part of our car club. We were about 40 in all on a dreary day. We had a fine welcome and the catering of starters and desserts were very tasty, good selection and well made. Not the usual fare but nice food. Would go again to try the regular menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheerieone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovemyholidays46
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Another great meal”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Lunch on my birthday. Restaurant was full and we were late but staff were great and even rustled up meals for our family who were really delayed. I had the turbot which was beautiful. Never had a bad meal here and always my favourite for a special occasion.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovemyholidays46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reeves Restaurant also viewed

Dunster, Exmoor National Park
 
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Reeves Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing