We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stags Head Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kingsway Hotel(Minehead)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kildare Lodge(Minehead)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Beach Hotel(Minehead)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveler rating
191
33
8
8
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
191
33
8
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubfish pieexcellent foodpiping hotfour nightsbeefreceived a very warm welcomeevening mealstayed for one nightlovely atmospherefull englishdunster villagecooked breakfastwell worth a visitold buildingyogurtb and b
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 242 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This lovely little Inn lived up to our expectations.... The welcome & service from the owners is second to none. Fantastic rooms that are kept spotless. The meals in the evening are above good "Pub Food". The breakfast is really good and offers everything you could want....Wouldn't stay anywhere else if we were going back to that area....Thanks.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I visit this pub every year during Dunster Archery Week the menu provides variety, value for money and a lovely atmosphere. My local pub is a country pub but this is just superb. I wish I loved closer but will be back again next year, we book for the following year every time we leave. It's nice to see the same staff year in year out, their charism charm and sense of humour is just an added bonus.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Gemma U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

In a two year absence to this venue, the quality of the food has changed. Service was excellent, however the food gave us mixed reviews. Here's hoping to our next 2 year visit, the Stags Head has returned to its original excellence.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank LD_Traveller00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We were staying at the Dunkery Beacon Hotel (see separate review) but got a taxi here on the Friday night. Very efficient and friendly service from start to finish - called in advance to ask them to email me a sample menu as not available on the website, and got a call back from very helpful man who explained that they had a problem with the email but he went through the menu with me over the phone. When we arrived the place was very busy but no faulting the service. We shared filo prawns to start which were delicious, garlicky and piping hot, then I had the venison and butternut squash pie and my husband the chicken, both very good, with a good and reasonably priced bottle of wine. Would certainly eat here again and, based on the food and service, would bear it in mind for accommodation also if we were in the area again.

Also very reasonably priced - meal as above including wine for £40.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank alchemilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Fabulous four nights at the Stag's Head. Wonderful accomodation and food. Nothing was too much trouble for Bernice, Michael and all the staff. Those lovely touches like bottled water, sweets and biscuits on our hospitality tray were so appreciated. We love Dunster and have been many times before but can not imagine going again and not staying at the Stag's Head. Wonderful, we loved everything about our stay ( and my husband tells me that the beer is good as well !!!!!!!! )

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandvbowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews