We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Review of Little Haven cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dunster, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
anthonyal...
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Review of Little Haven cottage”
Reviewed April 27, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

The cottage was excellent and very well equiped.
A real bonus was the attractive enclosed garden and it was very nice to be able to walk directly on to the moor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judebigle...
Bushey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Little Haven”
Reviewed April 25, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

The name of this beautiful cottage says it all! What a little gem nestled in amongst the hills of peace and tranquillity yet perfectly located for a variety of activities for all ages.
The cottage was extremely well equipped to the finest detail. The second I stepped into it, it felt like home.
Thank you both for my little piece of Haven.
Kind regards
Judy & Ian

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply the best cottage in the Exmoors after 25 years of searching.”
Reviewed February 22, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Little Haven is simply the best. On arrival the cottage was as clean as a new pin. The welcome pack was second to none including new top quality herbs, sauces, coffee, tea, milk, dishwasher tabs etc etc. All the lights had been checked and the kitchen appliances worked well. A lovely greeting from both the owners and the next door neighbour made it a perfect introduction. Walking distance to buses and local amenities make the location ideal alongside off road parking. Having stayed in top specked cottages for many years, Little Haven is the best we have found in the Exmoors and arguably in the UK. The owners should be proud of their achievements and we will be returning regularly in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Little Haven was Heaven”
Reviewed October 30, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Little Haven was indeed a haven of paradise. The cottage was cosy, warm and inviting with every little touch accounted for. The decor was very in keeping with the period of the cottage, but modern. The furniture and amenities were all high quality and comfy; brilliant to relax on at the end of a long days walking. The cottage was spotless. The bedrooms were pretty and comfortable with plenty of space and as cosy or airy as you wanted them to be. The garden was gorgeous and kept in tiptop condition; wonderful to relax in on a warm day. We did not try the BBQ, but it looked splendid tucked away in a pretty area of the garden. Great for a summer's evening.

We found the location absolutely ideal. Near to supermarkets, pubs and the local chippy (which we sampled and all good); near to the coast and tea-rooms and genteel shops and a fabulous steam railway, but for us the absolute icing on the cake was the choice of so many walks just outside the door, or if we ventured a little further wonderful walks on Exmoor and into Devon. So you could have a great day's walking in the wilderness, find a tearoom and eat scrumptious cakes as well as wander around Lynmouth, Dunster and pretty villages such as Selworthy.

We enjoyed homemade biscuits at the cottage, sweets and a cupboard full of helpful provisions, such as tea, coffee, sugar, spices etc. Even the dogs had homemade biscuits and a warm outside shower. Cannot fault our stay one bit - the sun was even out for most of our holiday. We also loved peace perfect peace and a starry sky at night. The whole week was superb. Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2017
WOW! Fantastic review ... thank you for taking the trouble to do that. So informative. See you again. Annie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pauljenki...
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“super pet friendly cottage”
Reviewed September 22, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Ideal location, very pretty cottage, very welcoming - lots of nice touches - a lovely cake, treats for the dog. Plenty of places to visit, local walks, friendly people. Couldnt have asked for more.
A hidden treasure!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2017
Thank you for taking the trouble to review us Paul ... and what a super one it is too! Thanks for coming to stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevekate...
East Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed July 2, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is a little haven just as it is named. Beautiful location and everything about the cottage is beautiful too. Attention to detail and finishing touches are luxurious and special. The garden and seating areas are secluded and surrounded by views of the hills. We were mountain biking- stunning and great variety of terrain (hills!!) And we chilled out and slept well in the very comfortable beds. Great selection of dvds, books and games. A very friendly part of the country - fabulous local co-op and Indian restaurant. We were welcomed by essentials and the best carrot cake ever.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2017
What a fab review ... thank you so very much. Look forward to seeing you both back for an extra large lemon cake!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna S
Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Ten out of ten”
Reviewed April 1, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed for 6 days. The cottage is in a great location being able to walk up onto the hills from the door. It is beautifully furnished and equipped and the owners are very helpful. One of the best cottages we have stayed in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing