We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room great breakfast friendly staff food inconsistent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunster Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dunster Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Dunster B&B and Inns
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great room great breakfast friendly staff food inconsistent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Was in the Conygar room. The room was great! Can understand why the breakfast is award winning. staff were very friendly and helpful - they were a real asset. Wifi was virtually nonexistent to smart phone, iPad and laptop. Fish and chips fantastic first night. On fourth night, moules and beef were average, though pancotta were excellent.

Very warm in room, despite the unseasonal weather in March.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    79
    32
    18
    19
See reviews for
52
194
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
swadlincote
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed during this very cold weekend but bedroom very warm and water for washing and showering red hot.The room seemed to be newly refurbished as was the bathroom which was spotlessly clean
When we arrived our luggage was taken from the car to our room and during our stay we found all th staff friendly and helpful
Ate in for two nights and found the menu to be interesting and the food good. The breakfast was freshly cooked and once again good quality(my wife had porridge which she likes and again this was freshly made)
As this is a comparatively small hotel there is no lounge area but the bar is nice and cosy
Anyone who wants to visit The West Somerset Heritage Railway this hotel is ideal only 20 mins.walk and Dunster castle is right on the doorstep
I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Dunster

Room Tip: Various choice of beds but most rooms have a pleasant view of the High Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights, I had a beautiful room, with a very large bed, lovely bedding and very comfy bed! The bathroom was modern and very clean! Great decor in the bedrooms! I ate in the hotel on the two nights, the food was fantastic, very fresh and tasty and a good choice and not over priced! The breakfast was great a wide choice of hot and cold options! The staff are friendly and the hotel was clean! The hotel is in a great location in a village that is full of character and the pub has been modernised but still full of character! Great place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blossom219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as a surprise for my friends birthday and had a truly lovely time.
The rooms were very nice in this ancient building and decorated in a tasteful modern fashion with huge comfy beds we didn't want to get out of, but breakfast beckoned!
The food here is fabulous, my compliments to the chefs.We had a superb dinner and the venison main course was the best I had ever tasted..done to perfection.
The Exmoor full breakfast was lovely too and I wished we could have stayed longer as the menu was very varied and I wanted to try it all.
The staff are lovely and made us feel very welcome and weren't at all stuffy as some can be elsewhere.
All in all folks I would highly reccommend this hotel and Dunster is a gorgeous village with a very interesting history and castle which we visited. Lots of places round and about being Exmoor and scenery to die for.We will be back hopefully for some more of the same or maybe lunch/dinner as we only live less than a couple of hours away.

Room Tip: We had room 4.The Grabbist.Lovely!The Conygar is superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jetseta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have eaten evening meals here 3 times now. The first time we had a very enjoyable meal, so we came back again. The food was still very good but on our 3rd visit we were disappointed. We booked a table next to the radiator as our guests feel the cold. We arrived to find the radiator was cold! We ordered our food and enjoyed the starters which were small in size. No problems with that. Then we began to feel cold, there was a cold draft from somewhere. We mentioned this to the waitress who was helpful and researched the problem. She said the back door was open as someone was waiting for their wife. Some people do not consider the comfort of others.She also turned the heating on. I would have thought that on a very cold night in March they should have been on. However there was still a cold draft and it was when we went to collect our coats we discovered why. There was a fire exit door ajar and our coats were freezing!
As for the main course they were generally good but the fish & chips was a big disappointment. Hardly any fish in the batter which was very dry and over cooked for its meagre size. My friend did not say anything until the end because she did not want to make a fuss and have to wait for a replacement while we tucked in.
As the price was £19.95 we felt this was poor value for my friends meal.
However the staff are friendly and helpful.
I feel the open plan arrangement does not help towards providing a warm dining experience.

Room Tip: Wear warm clothes in winter to dinner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marriedmembers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Bedroom was lovely although ours was right above the traffic lights on the high street so rather noisy. Bed very comfy. Reception rooms are open plan so rather lacking in character. Breakfast was very good with friendly service. Overall I would give it 7/10

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Absolutely fantastic few days, this well run hotel, is a must, beautiful rooms spotlessly clean, spacious with everything you would need, the staff were excellent very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, we experienced the food which was of high quality cuisine, we stayed only a couple of nights but we expect to return to this little retreat in November and wouldn't stay anywhere else. Brilliant experience looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: You must try the food,excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian Diamond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.1 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Exmoor House
Exmoor House
#2 of 13 in Dunster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dunster Mill House B & B
Dunster Mill House B & B
#6 of 13 in Dunster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunster Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunster Castle Hotel

Property: Dunster Castle Hotel
Address: 5 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Dunster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunster Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunster Castle Hotel is situated at the base of Dunster Castle itself and faces on to the cobbled medieval High Street. The recently refurbished hotel is under new ownership since June 2016 and has quickly established itself as a luxury boutique hotel and restaurant. All rooms are en-suite and vary from compact budget through to luxurious super-kingsize, and feature SMART TV's, free super-fast broadband, USB charging points, tea/coffee facilities with homemade biscuits, quality amenities, and complemented by stylish designer fabrics. Most, overlook the cobbled high street. The restaurant has the fastest growing reputation in the area for delivering exceptional food sourced from local ingredients complimented by exceptional service in exquisite surroundings. The hotel has the only private car park in Dunster and is free to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Dunster Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunster Castle Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing