We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food in wonderful location”

Psalter’s Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 17 Restaurants in Dunster
Price range: $32 - $53
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Psalter's Restaurant is named after the famous Luttrell Psalter, one of the best preserved medieval books now held in the British museum. Commissioned by Sir Geoffrey Luttrell in the early 1300s, whose family owned Dunster Castle, much of the village of Dunster and two of the buildings that make up The Luttrell Arms, we felt it appropriate to mark our connection in this way. We hope that our restaurant will combine the historic legacy and character reflected in the ancient architecture so authentically preserved in the buildings of Dunster and the Luttrell Arms with the very best of today's British hospitality and cuisine. We believe in using local produce that is 100% traceable, involving as few food miles as possible. We pride ourselves on simple preparation and beautiful presentation. We also support the local economy wherever possible.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“great food in wonderful location”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

we dined here on Fri evening and Sunday lunch time - both meals were excellent
the Sunday roast pork was fantastic

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dympna k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    63
    35
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A comedy of Errors”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed at the Luttrell Arms, please see the general review for more details. Essentially the evening meal was inedible for both the Children and the parents, not a great stay at all, a great shame.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ARBones_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely bar, great welcome and service”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Popped in on a Saturday night into the bar area for food as we had dogs with us. Food was piping hot with generous portions. Despite being very busy we had great service with a genuine welcome and friendly conversation. The dogs were brought a water bowl without us even asking. Cosy atmosphere, real fires, nice ale etc. what more could you want? Would definitely return when we're next in the area.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Pleasant dining room with lots of choice at breakfast. The porridge was just fantastic. Nice to be able to make an early start.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellembell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice food & staff”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed here for 5 days on a work trip & ate here a lot as we had a food allowance included in the cost of our room. The staff were polite & helpful and the food was good and reasonably priced. Good large portions (with the exception of the duck - you might want a side with that) - my colleague & I generally found that we couldn't finish 2 courses. By mid-week I started ordering dessert to my room about an hour after finishing my main so that I could fit it in. I tried quite a lot of the menu over the course of the week and enjoyed all of it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nessmaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Psalter’s Restaurant also viewed

Dunster, Exmoor National Park
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
 
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
 
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Psalter’s Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing