We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage in glorious location”
other travelers have booked this property
Highcroft and its private patio garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Highcroft and its private patio garden
Relax and enjoy your holiday A glass of wine on the balcony as the sun goes down
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Highcroft and its private patio garden
Relax and enjoy your holiday
A glass of wine on the balcony as the sun goes down
Bright, modern sitting room with plenty of seating for 4
Comfortable leather sofa which turns into a bed
It's easy to chat to each other from sitting room to kitchen
Everything at hand in the well-equipped kitchen
Space to eat in as well as out
Snuggle up in the double bedroom
Get a great night's sleep
The pretty single bedroom
Sparkling shower room
View of the fabulous Cheddar Gorge from the balcony
Relax by the pond with a good book or glass of wine!
View over the rooftops of Cheddar
Such a lovely setting
The private patio garden
Highcroft at dusk
Walks onto the top of the Gorge start 5 mins from the door
Stroll all the way around Cheddar reservoir
The wild goats in the Gorge are very friendly!
Dog friendly pub serving food, 2 mins walk away
Dog friendly pub, serving food, 5 mins walk away
Dog friendly pub, serving food, located in the Gorge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cheddar, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
swilliams...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage in glorious location”
Reviewed January 31, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Just lovely - cosy cottage, amazing balcony with views to the gorge, lovely garden. Lots of opportunities for walking with Cheddar literally on the doorstep.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 31, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind comments and hope you enjoyed the walking! We do hope that we see you again at some point in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort803...
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, excellent location”
Reviewed November 17, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

The cottage was an excellent base for our long weekend in Cheddar. It's traditional appearance hid a modern interior with all the comforts and conveniences of home. Set on a quiet side street, it offered great views from the balcony, yet was so close to everything we didn't need our car other than for more distant excursions. We loved the place as soon as we arrived. The owner, Andy, had thoughtfully provided some food basics to start us off and the house was well equipped with just about everything you might need. Overall we had a lovely stay and would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 20, 2016
Thank you so much for such kind comments. We are delighted that you had a lovely stay and, despite the changeable weather, still managed to do lots of walking. Hope to see you again at some time! Kind regards Andy and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2016
Thank you so much for your very kind comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your break over the half term holiday and do hope you will visit again in the future! Kind regards Andy and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 18, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm Welcome and Overall Customer Service
Liked least: Noise from the bathroom fan, a couple of tiles loose on the steps to property
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 18, 2016
Thank you so much for such positive feedback, we are delighted that your Dad had a nice birthday weekend and it was a pleasure having you (and your lovely, friendly dogs) to stay! Hope to see you again at some point in the future. Kind regards Helen and Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 29, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was outstanding and the views were wonderful.
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2016
Thank you so much for such lovely comments - we are delighted that you had a nice break here in Cheddar (despite the changeable weather!) and we hope that your very friendly (and handsome!) dogs enjoyed the walking. Do hope that you will get the chance to visit us again at some point in the future. Kind regards Andy and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Loyell
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful cottage in a great location”
Reviewed September 26, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had a lovely stay in this beautiful cottage. We were made to feel very welcome by the owners with our Border Collie Bess. The cottage is very well furnished and every comfort has been thought of. It is very clean and has lots of hot water and a great shower. There was a basket of provisions which we really appreciated after a long journey.
The grounds are totally secure and Bess was allowed to explore anywhere in the garden and the fish were fascinating to feed and watch.
It is in a great location and it is lovely to sit and look at the view from the balcony of the Gorge.
We would definitely recommend the cottage to anyone wanting to stay in Cheddar.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, views, comfort, cleanliness etc...................................
Liked least: Nothing to report
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2016
We are delighted to hear that you had a good holiday here in Cheddar and it was so lovely to see Bess enjoying her daily exercise! Thank you so much for your kind comments and we do hope that we see you again at some point in the future. Kind regards Andy and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wander495...
1 review
“Beautiful cottage, delightful setting”
Reviewed September 15, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Highcroft Cottage is simply perfect, it has everything you need for a short break or holiday. It's very cosy, has amazing views of Cheddar Gorge from the veranda, beautiful gardens and one of the best showers I've ever had in a rental property!! The owners are very friendly and provided a welcome pack which was unexpected but very thoughtful. I couldn't recommend this property enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful views, lovely accommodation
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2016
What lovely comments - we are so pleased that you had a nice holiday and do hope that you will visit us again at some point in the future. Kind regards Andy and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing