We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A true gem of a place, amazing views, a home from...”
other travelers have booked this property
Highcroft and its private patio garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Highcroft and its private patio garden
Relax and enjoy your holiday A glass of wine on the balcony as the sun goes down
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Highcroft and its private patio garden
Relax and enjoy your holiday
A glass of wine on the balcony as the sun goes down
Bright, modern sitting room with plenty of seating for 4
Comfortable leather sofa which turns into a bed
It's easy to chat to each other from sitting room to kitchen
Everything at hand in the well-equipped kitchen
Space to eat in as well as out
Snuggle up in the double bedroom
Get a great night's sleep
The pretty single bedroom
Sparkling shower room
View of the fabulous Cheddar Gorge from the balcony
Relax by the pond with a good book or glass of wine!
View over the rooftops of Cheddar
Such a lovely setting
The private patio garden
Highcroft at dusk
Walks onto the top of the Gorge start 5 mins from the door
Stroll all the way around Cheddar reservoir
The wild goats in the Gorge are very friendly!
Dog friendly pub serving food, 2 mins walk away
Dog friendly pub, serving food, 5 mins walk away
Dog friendly pub, serving food, located in the Gorge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cheddar, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Oona V
Oxted, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A true gem of a place, amazing views, a home from home”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

When we arrived we were welcomed with an amazing welcome pack, we have never received such an impressive welcome pack before - they really know what people need when away from home. The house was lovely warm and welcoming, a real home from home, everything we needed. Very comfortable, a lovely balcony with very impressive views of the gorge, a lovely terrace and garden. Very close to all amenities but lso really quiet at night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2016
What kind comments - thank you so much! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and do hope that your gorgeous little pup wasn't too tired out with all the dog-walking! Kind regards Andy and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan W
1 review
“Very warm welcome and lovely cottage”
Reviewed August 29, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Very warm welcome in a very nice cottage and a beautiful landscape. Complete equipped charming cottage, feeling like at home. A great location to explore the area with a nice villages, parks & gardens and a impressive gorge just some minutes away for walking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2016
Thank you so much for your comments - it was a pleasure to welcome you and your family (not to mention your lovely little Sheltie!) to Cheddar and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday. Kind regards Andy and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn W
2 reviews
“Brilliant cottage in a perfect location with wonderful views of the gorge”
Reviewed August 9, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This lovely cottage in the most beautiful surroundings is very well equipped. Andy and Helen have thought of everything to ensure an extremely comfortable stay. The welcome pack was very gratefully received, as was the information folder. The location is perfect, offering secure parking and all that Cheddar has to offer within walking distance. A great base to visit nearby Wells, Glastonbury, Burnham, Brean and endless other places. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to return some day. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of accommodation, views and location.
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are delighted that you had a nice holiday exploring all that the local area has to offer and we very much hope that we will get the chance to welcome you here again, at some point in the future. Kind regards Andy and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisajared
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed June 8, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The photos don't do this property justice. It's fantastic. High standard, great location a real home from home. The secure parking is a great bonus too. The many levelled garden is a joy. I enjoyed my breakfast and a good read on the patio and listened to the water running by. We would be very happy to stay in this property again and would recommend it to anyone. Lis X

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2016
Thank you so much for such a lovely review - we are delighted that you had a good holiday here in Cheddar and do hope that your little dog enjoyed all of the local walks. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmcolling...
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Cottage, fantastic location”
Reviewed June 7, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We have an absolutely amazing stay in Highcroft Cottage. The location is absolutely perfect (just a stone's throw from the gorge) and the views from the balcony are stunning.

The garden is beautiful, Loads of outdoor space, including a waterfall, lake (complete with fish to feed) and seating.

The house is fully equipped and well furnished. Great cottage.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2016
Thank you so much for your very kind comments - we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Highcroft Cottage. We love spending time in the garden - particularly now that the sunnier weather is here - and our fish certainly appreciate the attention they get from our guests! Do hope to see you again at some point in the future. Kind regards Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming, Delightful, Perfect.”
Reviewed May 2, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We've just returned from a few days staying in this wonderful cottage. The facilities are excellent and the location couldn't be better. Very comfortable and cosy with magnificent views from the balcony. Our little dog loved it too, it's nice to find somewhere of such quality that is dog-friendly. Cheddar is a great base for exploring the area, Burnham, Weston, Brean, Glastonbury etc. are all around half an hour away. Strolling up the Cliffs in Cheddar dipping in and out of the little shops and tea-rooms is also very enjoyable.
The cottage owners are very helpful and friendly and did their very best to make our stay most enjoyable. I have a strong suspicion we will be returning to Highcroft Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, location and quality of the fitting and fixtures.
Liked least: Nothing really
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 2, 2016
We are so pleased that you had a good time staying here in lovely Cheddar and little puppy Mattie is absolutely adorable - it would be lovely to see you again and hopefully next time for him to be big enough to have a decent run around the gardens! Many thanks for your comments. Kind regards Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bron B
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed April 26, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Wonderful location minutes walk from central Cheddar and walks into the gorge itself. The views up the gorge from the cottage are amazing!
Could not fault amenities and cleanliness of the property, and very comfortable.
We especially enjoyed sitting on the covered verandah enjoying the views.
Great if you are gravelling with your dog as the garden is fully enclosed.
The welcome pack was most appreciated.
We will definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2016
Thank you so much for such a lovely review - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you managed to do plenty of dog-walking! Do hope to welcome you here again at some point in the future. Best wishes Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing