We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous”
other travelers have booked this property
Highcroft and its private patio garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Highcroft and its private patio garden
Relax and enjoy your holiday A glass of wine on the balcony as the sun goes down
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Highcroft and its private patio garden
Relax and enjoy your holiday
A glass of wine on the balcony as the sun goes down
Bright, modern sitting room with plenty of seating for 4
Comfortable leather sofa which turns into a bed
It's easy to chat to each other from sitting room to kitchen
Everything at hand in the well-equipped kitchen
Space to eat in as well as out
Snuggle up in the double bedroom
Get a great night's sleep
The pretty single bedroom
Sparkling shower room
View of the fabulous Cheddar Gorge from the balcony
Relax by the pond with a good book or glass of wine!
View over the rooftops of Cheddar
Such a lovely setting
The private patio garden
Highcroft at dusk
Walks onto the top of the Gorge start 5 mins from the door
Stroll all the way around Cheddar reservoir
The wild goats in the Gorge are very friendly!
Dog friendly pub serving food, 2 mins walk away
Dog friendly pub, serving food, 5 mins walk away
Dog friendly pub, serving food, located in the Gorge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cheddar, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ADepatie
Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous”
Reviewed April 24, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The cottage & views were amazing. A perfect relaxing mini break in a delightful, comfortable cottage. Perfect accommodation for myself, my 21 yr old autistic son, and 22 yr daughter. I would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind comments - we are so pleased that you and your family had a good break and it would be lovely to welcome you all again at some point in the future. Kind regards Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne M
Norwich
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat”
Reviewed April 10, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Very nice stay with my husband and son. Beds were comfortable and the cottage was well equipped. Loved sitting outside looking at the views and watching the birds. We also enjoyed sitting by the pond and watching the fish and my son enjoyed feeding them. The extras on arrival was very welcome and much appreciated! It was nice to stay in a cottage where the owners had considered what may be needed by the weary traveller! Entertainment choice of dvd's, books or games were excellent for rainy days!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nature
Liked least: Fie alarm
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2016
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay here in Cheddar and also getting out and about exploring the local area. It was also very kind of your son to take the time to find out what our mystery fish are! Do hope that, despite having such a long way to travel, you had a safe and smooth journey home and that we will see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemonpips...
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow, wow, wow!”
Reviewed March 30, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

From the moment we parked the car, we were impressed. Walking across the established garden, that’s totally dog secure, we climbed the steps to the cottage where our smiles just got bigger. There's a beautiful view from the ornate veranda and through the patio doors in the kitchen and lounge. The cottage is furnished very tastefully and comfortably, it’s warm and cosy and feels like home straight away. The welcome food and drink was greatly appreciated, the towels fluffy, the bed linen crisp and ironed and everything that you might need was supplied, even washing liquid tablets for the washing machine for those unexpected slips in the mud. This cottage has everything that you might need. I don’t think that we would come again, as we have now been to Cheddar twice, but I will definitely be telling everyone I know about how lovely our stay was. Well done Andy and Helen for getting it SO right. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: That we had to leave
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2016
Thank you for such a lovely review. It was an absolute pleasure meeting you and your family (not to mention your gorgeous little pup!) and we are so pleased that you had a nice time staying with us. Friends and family welcome any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 28, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 31, 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words and very pleased that your parents and son had a good time. Also very timely as we have just had wifi installed at the cottage (December 2015) so hopefully no need for library visits in the future! Every good wish for 2016. Kind regards Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cutswood
2 reviews
“Excellent cottage in the heart of Cheddar”
Reviewed November 15, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

The cottage is a great find, all mod cons, very clean and as warm as you want, well equipped with everything you need for a self- catering holiday. Starting with the many extras left for us and our dog. The cottage is situated in the heart of Cheddar and even though we were there out of season, there was plenty of places open to eat and browse. A walk through the Gorge is well worth it for the views there. We hope to return sometime to do some more walking in this outstanding area of natural beauty.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Cottage its position in Cheddar
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 16, 2015
Linda - many thanks for providing such a quick and very kind review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your break (with lots of lovely dog-walking!) in the Cheddar area. I very much hope to welcome you, Eric and Misty again at some point in the future. Kind regards Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 30, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2015
Thank you so much - it was a pleasure welcoming you to lovely Cheddar and I am so pleased that you (and your dog!) enjoyed your break here. Hope to see you again. Kind regards Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Karen H
West Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
“absolutely lovely”
Reviewed September 20, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I cannot find fault with any part of the accommodation it was absolutely perfect. I would certainly stay there again. I would also highly recommended the white heart pub for there lovely food and hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: I cannot think of anything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 21, 2015
I am so pleased that you enjoyed staying at Highcroft and I would, of course, be delighted to welcome you again at any time in the future! Kind regards Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing