We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Carvery”
Review of The White Hart

The White Hart
Ranked #8 of 44 Restaurants in Cheddar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The menu cater's for a wide variety of tastes, offering "Harty", home cooked food at very reasonable prices. Vegetarian dishes are available, as are "Lighter" options for those with a not so "Harty" an appetite.The bar is stocked with a good range of Real Ales, Draught Lager, Stout and Ciders along with a good selection of fine wines available by the glass or bottle.
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent Carvery”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We were recommended to eat here by the cave's staff and we were not disappointed. We were not expecting a carvery so lovely surprise. The lady serving us was really nice, very helpful and so friendly and welcoming. The Yorkshire puddings were huge, all made by the lady who served us. Best we have ever had. We looked at the menu for a return visit that evening for dinner, so much to choose from, much more than you would usually expect. For instance they do home made pizza's. Very fairly priced and very high standard.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nickie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    83
    31
    7
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bexley
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Lovely Luschious Lunch”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Graham and I spent a delightful day at Cheddar Gorge. After we'd explored the caves but before we summoned up the strength to climb Jacob's Ladder, we fortified ourself with lunch at the White Hart. What a really nice pub to visit. There was a welcoming roaring log fire and the welcome from the staff was just as friendly. This is obviously a 'locals' pub and it was fun to sit and listen to the banter amongst a variety of men standing at the bar enjoying their pint. Our lunch came up surprisingly quickly. I chose the home made tomato soup with granary bread - good choice. It was absolutely delicious. Graham decided on a doorstep ham and mustard sandwich. The ham was plentiful and tasty and his mustard came up separately in a pot for him to help himself. I just wish we could have gone back there again during our stay but if ever we visit the area again, the White Hart will be a definite play to visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great local”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We've used the White Hart for 12 years. It's a brilliant local pub, is really welcoming and has given us many happy times.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheddar_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“lovely food”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

we ate here this week whilst staying in Cheddar, the meal we had was very tasty and good value for money. The staff are very friendly and they have a good selection of Ciders, beers and wines,my favourite being the Cheddar Valley cider. The bar was busy with a good mix of locals and tourists,giving it a nice ambiance, would definately go back if visiting Cheddar again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hogster62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Food never arrived”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Sure it was a one off but 45m wait for a sandwich then just asked for a refund while people around us arrived after and god their food. Not great service at all

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Raveydavey1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Hart also viewed

 
Cheddar, Somerset
Cheddar, Somerset
 

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing