We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly Recommend”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Gorge View Cottage

The cottage with the gorge view in the background
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage with the gorge view in the background
A view to the gorge View from the top of the gorge, Cheddar village and reservoir beyond  (photo: Chris Andrews)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
The cottage with the gorge view in the background
A view to the gorge
View from the top of the gorge, Cheddar village and reservoir beyond  (photo: Chris Andrews)
The cottage
The living room with exposed original stone
Dining table
View to the hall and stairs
Living room, view to the gorge, and our lovely wood burning stove
The kitchen  - units hand-crafted from reclaimed wood with a granite work surface
Bedroom: king size bed, memory foam mattress and organic cotton linen
Bedroom again - airy and light with views to the gorge from bed
View of the cottage from the lane
Patio catching the late afternoon sun
A perfect late afternoon drink on the patio
The patio from the drive
Green Tourism Gold level award
Green Tourism GoldStar award in national awards (highly commended)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cheddar, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
emmalily2...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed January 3, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Myself and my fiance are both 24, so considered a young couple, we were looking for something slightly different to the usually all inclusive abroad holidays we go on and this did not disappoint! We arrived around 3pm on the 30th December and was looking forward to a long weekend break over new years. We had a friendly welcome and was shown around the cottage. The cottage itself was beautiful, warm, cosy and had everything we needed. The location was great, walking distance from Cheddar Gorge (caves, shops Jacob's ladder, pubs, Tesco express. We parked the car on the Friday and didn't use the car until we left on the Monday. Before we arrived on the Friday we went to Wookey Hole, and after we left went to Wells which we enjoyed. We would highly recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing little break, with fresh air and lots to do it you are up for it. We look forward to returning in the future.
Many thanks to the owners.
Emma & Michael

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline...
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in a stunning location”
Reviewed August 6, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Ideally situated in a peaceful spot within short walk to local restaurants, pubs and shops. The cottage is perfect for a couple and is supplied with everything you could need and more. Huw and Mary were very welcoming and helpful and we enjoyed exploring their garden. Walking Cheddar Gorge was a highlight even with some showers of rain on the way.
We will definitely return for another stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIRE465...
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“GORGEous Cottage”
Reviewed June 5, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

From first booking the cottage to leaving everything was excellent. You would be very hard to please if you could find fault. The owners were very helpful in all aspects. The cottage was very comfortable and had everything we needed. Gorge View was in a very convenient location for all our needs but as other reviews have said extremely peaceful. We made great use of the bicycles even 20+ miles along the Strawberry line and to visit the family at a nearby camp site.
We would highly recommend for a stay in the Cheddar Gorge. I doubt you would find better for two people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We were fortunate to have good weather to make it perfect.
Liked least: That we were two weeks too early for the strawberries!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Techn0Cat
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb and very well equipped cottage”
Reviewed May 13, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This wonderful cottage is really comfortable with everything needed for a relaxing break. It is in an excellent location, just a short stroll from the restaurants, pubs and shops of the village, as well as the gorge. However, it is also really peaceful with the sound of birdsong, the occasional bicycle and not much else. The views from the bedroom and living room window are stunning (I spent rather a lot of time looking out at them). The patio area is great. Even, when it was raining, we sat under the porch and enjoyed an evening drink. We will return, I feel sure. Thank you Huw and Mary for creating such a welcoming place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views!
Liked least: Having to come home!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Q3994EOca...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A haven of peace with a lot of entertainment is within reach.”
Reviewed July 13, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Our compliments for the comfortable cottage, the garden and the hospitality of our hosts. The cottage is fully equipped, everywhere is taken care of. We really appreciated WIFI. There is a great view when we looked outside. We liked the fresh strawberries from the garden. The stove was fantastic. Thanks for using the bikes. The surrounding areas are amazing for walks, cycle tours, touristics and also relaxing in the garden. There are great places to visit within a hour drive such as Bath, Stourhead House, Glastonbury Abbey and Tor, Wells and a lot more. Mendip Spring Golf Course is fine for a relaxing day of Golf.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and comfortable cottage, which met the expectations., and the perfect location.
Liked least: The toilet upstairs.
Traveling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minxy71
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage beautiful area”
Reviewed June 17, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Everything about our stay was perfect . the only downfall was having to leave . hope to go back for a second visit . the walks were lovely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from every window.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipperdo...
Attleborough
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just a darling little cottage”
Reviewed April 30, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The cottage was exactly as described. It had everything needed for our stay. It was warm and cosy and the view up to the Gorge was stunning. The garden of the main house is huge and you can wander round at will. It was a steep climb up from the village but we managed and we are in our 70's.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The underfloor heating
Liked least: The steep climb up the road
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing