We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheddar B&B Bramblewood

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cheddar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cheddar B&B Bramblewood
Ranked #4 of 11 Cheddar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

My boyfriend booked this b&b to take me away for my birthday. We have had bad experiences with b&b's and hotels before so i did not know what to expect. the house was lovely! the owner and her family made my partner and I feel very welcome. The room was by far one of the best rooms we have stayed in and the bathrooms were amazing!! the view out of the window of the gorge was stunning! just the thing you love to wake up in the morning and look out to. The owner kindly made reservations for us at a local pup the gardeners inn as we did not know any places around. it is about a 3 min walk and the food is amazing. As for the breckfast we recieved in the morning was by far the best cooked breckfast we have had! just a shame we could not finish it as we pigged out on toast before the breckfast come :) by far the best b&b we have stayed in and it made my birthday the best one ever!! thank you.... Sarah and gary :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
60
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Threshfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights over a weekend on our way to Devon.It was the most amazing B&B we've ever stayed in.We felt more like we were visiting old friends rather than being paying guests.The owner Amanda couldn't do enough for us and the fact that we had the place to ourselves meant that everytime we met her it turned into a 20 minute chat which was lovely.I didn't get to meet Colin as he was away for the weekend on his stag night.It is located on a quiet side road but is only a couple of minutes walk from the village.I cannot recommend this place enough and the cooked breakfast was enormous!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trickydicky56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

Just returned from three nights celebrating our daughters 12th birthday. What a lovely, friendly, clean B & B. Amanda, Collin and their family made us feel very welcome and their knowledge of the local area really enhanced our stay. Lovely views, places to eat and little pubs and tea rooms within walking distance made this a fantastic location, as well as Cheddar Gorge and caves. We really felt relaxed and refreshed after our three days. The breakfast was just perfect, lovely to have local produce and was cooked so well. Nothing was too much for Amanda and Collin, they were lovely with our two daughters aged 9 & 12 and really made us feel welcome. Thank you and we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jc2Birmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying there for two periods of 2 weeks in January and February. I was made to feel like one of the family in a way that was completely welcoming yet not overly intrusive and let me concentrate on my work in the evenings.

The house is located in a quiet side-road, a few minutes walk from the centre of Cheddar and you can walk to the main street, pubs or takeaways. It also has plenty of room to park your car off street.

The single room that I stayed in had everything that I needed including Wi-Fi, a desk, a TV/DVD player and a hot drinks tray. I could even see the Gorge from the window. The bathroom down the hall was out of this world - a stone, digitally controlled wet-room with a large bath. Everything was immaculately clean with regular fresh towels and a dressing gown. I had a quick peek in the double room which looked a lot more luxurious with another fabulous bathroom.

The breakfasts, which as far as I'm concerned are the most important thing, were fabulous. Perfectly grilled butchers sausages and bacon, saute potatoes, beans mushrooms, eggs, home-baked bread, proper coffee, juice, fruit salad, yoghurt, porridge. Amanda WILL fill you up! I was also provided with a hearty packed lunch and a lovely evening meal which you could have either in your room or join the family in the dining room. I do recommend the slow-cooked lamb with dauphinoise potatoes. And the lasagne. And the curry. You get the point..... I also recommend joining the family for dinner - they are lovely people and really make you feel at home. Nothing was too much trouble and if there's anything you need, you can just ask. Colin even picked me up when my car broke down and called someone to come and fix it the next day! Now that's service!

The price is a little more than you will find other B&B's for in Cheddar, but when you take everything into account, it is excellent value for money.
Overall, I cannot speak highly enough of a lovely house and a delightful family. The service was faultless, thank you very much.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wrighty66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

After 5 months in the UK, this is the closest we have felt to being home. The hosts Amanda and Colin have spent the better part of their lives in the Cheddar / Axbridge area so are a wealth of local knowledge and recommendations for eating, sightseeing etc. They really went the extra mile for us and were friendly and engaging. The room was spotless, the bed comfortable after a day of hiking and the view of the gorge and Mendips spectacular. The breakfast was a veritable feast, cooked and prepared as we liked. The location was sensational with pubs, restaurants, the gorge, reservoir and village a short stroll away. Definitely the highlight of our UK travels. John and Nicola, Brisbane, Qld, Australia.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnygypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

Amazing warm welcome on arrival by the hosts Colin & Amanda, nothing was too much trouble. The accomodation was perfect with great attention to detail in the room and in the fab en-suite!!!!It couldn't have been a more relaxing stay and there isn't anything they couldn't answer about the local shops, pubs, and tourist spots and their local knowledge helped me make the most of my weekend away. Breakfast was full of local produce and I was sad to leave on the monday morning. I'll definately be back.

Room Tip: I stayed in the luxurious room with the en-suite - fab :-) - Large room at the facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolaHughes_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

Fantastic venue and a refreshing change from the overpriced cramped accomadation my wife and I have stayed in previously! Lovely house, first class room and improved further still by the lovely and friendly hosts Amanda & Colin. Nothing was too much trouble for them and their local knowledge is really useful for walks and eating out. We will most definitely be back!!
Thanks to you both, Steve & Catriona

Room Tip: Ask the lovely new on suite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheddar
6.3 mi away
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
#1 of 1 in Cheddar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
6.0 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Webbington Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Bath Arms Hotel
Bath Arms Hotel
#1 of 11 in Cheddar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nyland Manor
Nyland Manor
#5 of 11 in Cheddar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheddar B&B Bramblewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheddar B&B Bramblewood

Property: Cheddar B&B Bramblewood
Address: Bramblewood Upper North Street, Cheddar BS27 3HX, England (Formerly Bramblewood B&B)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Cheddar
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Cheddar
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quintessential bed and breakfast offering affordable luxury with a mouth watering breakfast to get your day off on the right foot. Attention to detail, friendly atmosphere and a high standard of accommodation, brings together all that is required to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. So book your reservation and make your stay in the heart of Cheddar a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cheddar B&B Bramblewood Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing