We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from Home”
The Orchard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Orchard
Driveway view Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
The Orchard
Driveway view
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Kitchen
Master Bedroom with ensuite
Double Bedroom
Triple Bedroom
Triple Bedroom
Entrance
Hallway
Bathroom
Garden
stunning scenery around Cheddar Reservoir. excellent walk
Cheddar Gorge Bus Tour
Cheddar Gorge in all its splendor
Goughs Caves, Cheddar Gorge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Cheddar, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rebash123
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed May 29, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Excellent Bungalow in a perfect and quiet location yet only 2 minutes walk into Cheddar and amenities.

The property was superb and the owners Carol & Jim very helpful and friendly.
Many thanks for the groceries.
It was a perfect base for for visiting Cheddar Gorge, Wells, several national trust properties etc.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 31, 2017
We enjoy having visitors to our bungalow and try to ensure that their
holiday is a memorable one. These visitors really enjoyed the area,
which is very spectacular and there is so much to do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmithAlis...
1 review
“Perfect location”
Reviewed August 24, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Great house with spacious rooms. Perfect location for travelling around the area and. 5 minute walk into the Cheddar Gorge itself.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanQ24
Gloucestershire
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Super bungalow accommodation in a great location”
Reviewed November 20, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Extremely spacious and comfortable 3 bedroom (very comfortable beds) bungalow in a private and quiet setting, superbly situated for exploring Somerset. Wonderful, helpful hosts live next door; they are very quiet/discreet. A Costcutter shop and petrol station are 3 minutes walk away. There are plenty of good restaurants nearby. Cheddar Gorge and Caves are a few minutes away by car and are well worth a visit. The beautiful town of Wells is only a few miles away, with its wonderful cathedral and Bishop's Palace as well as a great market on a Wednesday and a Saturday. There are lots of good shops in Wells, too, and delightful coffee shops and eateries.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and comfort
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitcham, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 13, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was clean comfortable and felt like home
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ruth G
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Gem of a property!!!”
Reviewed September 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a fantastic stay at 'The Orchard', the property is in a perfect location with the Cheddar Gorge and Caves just a 5 min walk around the corner and the village centre just a 10 min walk down the road. The bungalow was immaculately clean, very well presented and is deceptively spacious with large rooms, we were a party of 6 adults and a baby and never felt on top of one another. The owners Carol and James had thought of everything and were very kind having bread and milk waiting for us on our arrival, they also provided us with very useful information about local pubs, restaurants and attractions. There are so many things to see and do in the local area - we enjoyed visiting the Gorge & Caves, took trips out to Wells, Weston and Street and had a fun day out on the West Somerset Steam Railway. There is so much more we would have liked to have seen and done that we will have to make a return trip sometime in the future and there's no question as to where we would stay - No Brainer!!! The Orchard - don't know why anyone would consider staying anywhere else!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda B
Uckfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“So glad I chose this property for our holiday”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The owners were welcoming and relaxed on our arrival and milk and bread was a very thoughtful touch. They were very helpful with local knowledge plus the property was well stocked with leaflets of local places to enjoy which was useful. Despite their proximity, they left us to our own devices and we were able to enjoy full privacy. The property was brilliantly located and we were able to walk into Cheddar and local pubs for evening meals, even at the pace of our 3 year old. However, the best thing of all was that the property was immaculately clean! I travel with a tiny bottle of Jif and I certainly did not need it here! Especially lovely to be able to relax and not worry about grime when one has young children in tow. I would definitely recommend this property, we had a lovely stay.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne P
Urmston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect location for a great holiday”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We arrived to be greeted by Carole and James (the owners) who had kindly left us bread, milk and a card and gift for our daughter's birthday- a great start to our time in "The Orchard".
Carole is a font of local knowledge and gave us lots of advice on where to go and places to eat (The Bath Arms does exceptionally good food). The bungalow was spacious, well equipped and had two bathrooms (one on suite) which is must with two teenage children. Due to its location there is much to do- Cheddar Gorge is a 10 minute walk away(this saves all the car parking fees) with a variety of activities and attractions (climbing, Jacob's Ladder, Gorge walk and Gough's Cave to name a few). Bristol is within easy reach to go Banksy spotting and hunting Shaun the Sheep (on the day we went they had run out of maps so download one before you go). Other attractions within easy driving distance include Wells (market and stunning cathedral), Weston (sand sculptures and beaches), Glastonbury (walk to the top of the Tor) and Longleat (it's an expensive day out but well worth the money- it's a must to feed the deer!). Overall it was a fantastic holiday with excellent accommodation, very friendly but not intrusive owners and lots to do and see . We would highly recommend this bungalow and will definitely be heading there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing