We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXPENSIVE but fun” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheddar Caves & Gorge

Cheddar Caves & Gorge
Book In Advance
More Info
$76.57*
and up
Burrington Combe to Cheddar Gorge Caving and Hiking Day Tour from Bristol
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Cheddar
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These caves provided shelter for man more than 40,000 years ago.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“EXPENSIVE but fun”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Wow, this place is expensive. Staff were very friendly and helpful, but everything was pricey - from the £50 for the family (including a free under 5) entrance, to the expensive cafe where we had sandwiches, to the £5 parking charge. The caves did not take long to get around, even using the audio tour headset. The kids weren't impressed with the Crystal Quest but they liked some of the formations in the caves and had fun exploring. It was fun, but vastly overpriced. We walked up the hill (Jacob's ladder?) and up the tower, and the views were amazing. The museum was interesting but the huge defleshed head at the end was disgusting and a bit scary for children and adults alike. The museum "Cheddar Man" was very friendly and informative. The Gorge bus tour was interesting but short (20 minutes); the man doing audio was very good.
We enjoyed our visit here but think that the price is too high and must prevent alot of people from making the effort to get out there.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Berkshire-Bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,001
    782
    337
    140
    87
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Easter in the gorge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We spent a whole day here, arriving at 10am as the caves opened. It was nice to go through the caves before it got busy, with plenty of spce to look around and enjoy. The audio guided tour is well worth listening to and the childrens version seemed to hold our 7 year olds interest. The main cave is impressive but the smaller cave is more beautiful. The dragon quest bit is cheesy but the kids like it. The gorge walk is challenging, with a steep climb up to the top to start, the going is rough, good boots or shoes essential, and it's mostly uphill, and then downhill again! We only did one side and then walked along the road through the bottom of the gorge back to the main area. The bus tour is short, but as it's included in the price it's worth a ride, and the guide tells you some interesting facts even if he is a little difficult to hear over the bus's engine.
We bought cheese (cheddar of course!) and chutney to have a picnic lunch but nowhere sold bread, we had to make do with crackers. There are lots and lots of cafe's, tea shops and restaurants so plenty of choice for eating, and some good icecream places.
The gift shop is very well stuffed with anything with the vaguest connection to caves, dinosaurs, dragons etc etc. and impossible to avaoid as they all are.
Finally there is a small museum which has some interesting stuff if you can get a small chld to stop and look.
The ticket is expensive but you do get a full day out, plus £5 car parking fee.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Onceawaitress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
321 reviews
177 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

if you visit the gorge by car park further up the gorge and walk down so you can really see the gorge the caves are so impressive a tip wear sturdy footwear when you visit it is quiet reasonably priced to visit the caves considering you can spend all day there there are plenty of cafes around the bottom of the gorge where you can sit outside and have a cuppa we found early morning was the best time to visit before all the coaches arrived we had a great day out

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank frances292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
430 reviews
218 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Beautiful Town Nestled in Cheddar Gorge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Really enjoyed our afternoon spent in Cheddar Gorge, England. It is a beautiful little town nestled in the gorge. Lovely stream running through the picturesque town with various hiking paths that allow you to appreciate the beauty of the surroundings. I love caves and enjoyed both cave experiences and the history that they hold. I liked that it is a self-guided tour so you can walk through the caves at your own pace while listening to the audio guide. The cave aged cheddar cheese was some of the tastiest cheese that I have ever had!! If I lived closer I might travel to Cheddar Gorge for the hiking and cheese alone!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MKTBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth a day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Caves are very impressive, the gorge itself is great but you will need to get your walking boots on and take a good stroll around to fully appreciate ithe views, wild flowers, wildish british goats and soay sheep. Top tip: The open top bus tour is a good way to start the day.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheddar Caves & Gorge also viewed

 

Been to Cheddar Caves & Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing