We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sat morning at the Gorge”

Cheddar Caves & Gorge
Book In Advance
More Info
$78.64*
and up
Burrington Combe to Cheddar Gorge Caving and Hiking Day Tour from Bristol
Ranked #2 of 17 things to do in Cheddar
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These caves provided shelter for man more than 40,000 years ago.
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sat morning at the Gorge”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

1st cave very interesting, worth the time going to and exploring. The bus tour although interesting information given you can drive the route and see the sights yourself. It is definatley worth a visit and a great way to spend a morning.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nic R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,025
    802
    344
    142
    89
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We enjoyed our trip to Cheddar, the combo ticket was worth buying. Get the coach first which drops you at the top and then make your way down the road visiting the various attractions on the way down.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ranadanadingdongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A bit gimmicky”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

This should be a lovely area, but it is a bit gimmicky and crowded and so if you want a walk in the area you may be better off in the Mendip Hills.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Navibarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A little expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

This sort of thing is not for me, has become too commercialised and businesses taking advantage of a natural and once unspoilt place.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank carpy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Wootton Bassett
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Really Enjoyed Cheddar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

My Husband and I really enjoyed 3 days in Cheddar. We enjoyed the 'tourist strip' which was not at all crowded mid-week October, but was also not completely deserted. Each of the eating places we visited (5 in total) were great and Gough caves was stunning - really worthwhile. We made use of the 'senior citizen' Gough's cave and a snack ticket - good value. Also did the gorge walk which was stunning - quite muddy bit a long way short of impassable and a walk from Blackrock gate to velvet bottom (just north of the gorge). We will be back!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RichMaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheddar Caves & Gorge also viewed

 

Been to Cheddar Caves & Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing