We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cheddar Woods Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at cheddar woods over new year with our friends, we both have toddlers one aged 15 months and our boy 22 months. We stayed in lodge 17 which had one double room and two twins, on arrival we went to reception and the staff were very friendly and quick in giving us keys and wifi codes along with an information pack. We were asked if we wanted to use a Nintendo wii whilst we stated which I thought was a really nice touch. Going into the lodge we were a little disappointed at how small the two twin rooms were but x2 cots had been set up so no real issues there, the beds would of been fine for children but for adults I think a little small. I think if we were to go back we would go for one of the larger lodges with a hot tub. The lodges inside were very well equipped and cosy. Really liked the decking and furniture outside although we did not get to use as it rained quite a bit but can imagine summer nights would be great. The clubhouse for us was the icing on the cake and although we had a trip to Wookey hole and the bristol aquarium we didn't really need to leave the resort. There was a great pool were my boy really enjoyed splashing about. Very clean nice changing rooms,we all enjoyed the steam/ sauna and had lovely massages. The restaurant served really great food and we enjoyed playing pool and bowling. The kids thoroughly enjoyed the indoor soft play area. Staff were very friendly and helpful especially Dolly who kindly called up various places on New Year's Eve as we were unsure of what would be open New Year's Day. We are already looking to come back in the Summer. Thanks to cheddar woods for a great time.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina L, Customer Services Manager at Cheddar Woods Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Cheddar Woods.
We really appreciate your comments and are delighted that you enjoyed your first stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you and you family to Cheddar again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    180
    62
    20
    9
See reviews for
523
134
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have just returned from spending a New year break at Cheddar Woods - it is truely a 5 star park!
We have already booked to return at easter when we are renting 3 2 bedroom lodges for our friends and mum and dad to return with us.

The accomodation was fantastic (luxury - the homes have everything you might ever need, including 42" LED telly in the lounge and LED telly's in every bedroom, ipod docking stations). The spa was out of this world, they offer great treatment are realistic prices. The pool and gym were enjoyed by us all. The bar food was great and the drinks reasonably priced.

The staff are the friendlest bunch of people I have ever meet.

There's so much to do in the local area and it's not as far to travel down to as Devon and Cornwall.

Overall Cheddar Woods is a real first class holiday park. In the past we have holidayed every year at Centre Park but choice an alternative as their prices (and the cost of all the extras) is just getting silly. I am happy to report that we have found our new anual UK holiday resort, I only hope you find it too!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMShols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina L, Customer Servcies Manager at Cheddar Woods Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am so pleased to here that you enjoyed it and especially that you found all of our team so friendly. We do pride ourselves on having warm and friendly staff.

I am pleased to hear that you will be seeing us again soon and I look forward to giving you another enjoyable stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Booked the Chedder Premium Lodge with hot tub (hot tub is a MUST!). The staff were amazing especially Dolly who was extremely accommodating when we asked her for special requests on NYE (all of which worked out without a hitch). Lovely dinner on NYE and entertainment great family atmosphere. The facilities were second to none. We did not have any children in our party so did not use most of the Active facilities but we did use the pool/sauna/steam room and bar and restaurant could not fault anything. Fantastic location we walked into Chedder (20 minutes) and visited the Gorge. We drove into Bath 45 mins by car and it was beautiful. Loved it so much that whilst checking out we booked for next New Year cant wait. I would recommend to all of my friends and family. WELL DONE Chedder Woods one very happy customer. Mr & Mrs Almonte

Room Tip: Personally the Hot Tub really makes a difference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina L, Customer Services Manager at Cheddar Woods Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Cheddar Woods. We really appreciate your comments and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you and you family to Cheddar again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Spending over £800 for a week at Xmas, we weren't expecting problems like this.
No Wi-Fi for 3 days, no dryer on the washing machine, terrible TV menu system, leaking toilets and a ridiculous vehicle entry system that needed to be dealt with on the passenger side of the car.
Every man and his dog came to our lodge to try to fix these problems, so we didn't get a lot of peace for the whole week. We even had people checking the hot tub on our decking randomly without knocking first.
The week was a real disappointment.
Oh, and to use the gym facilities you need to have an induction which meant that my 2 grown up sons who are both already members of gyms in London did not get a chance to use the facilities as there was no one to do the induction. Pathetic!
Oh, and the beds are far to soft. Didn't sleep that well either

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina L, Customer Services Manager at Cheddar Woods Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on your recent stay with us here at Cheddar Woods. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay.

We take customer satisfaction extremely seriously and encourage all our customers to bring any issues to our attention at the time so that we can try and rectify them so that the holiday can be enjoyed. This was the case with issues raised by yourselves as we did endeavour to do all we could to resolve these for you. Where possible, alternatives were offered in the hope of reducing the impact while they were addressed such as access to another lodge for wifi and taking your laundry to the housekeeping department to be dried.

We are sorry if you feel that there were a number of people attending your lodge but this was needed in order to resolve these issues. We do also attend all hot tubs at least once a day to test and ensure they are up to Health & Safety standards for your use as is advised on the disclaimers passed to all guests on check in. We recognise this may be uncomfortable for some and you may prefer us knocking but we do not wish to disturb customers any more than necessary when doing necessary checks such as these.

Thank you again for your feedback and I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
208 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We had a lovely christmas mid week break here.
On arrival the reception staff were excellent, gave us a tour of the complex etc. everything is lovely and new.
THE LODGE: fabulous, spacious, well equipped. The dressing gowns & towels left were a lovely touch. Hot tub was great. Heating very good.
THE MAIN CENTRE: swimming was good, lovely shop stocking essentials, bowling, pool tables, golf simulator screen, all staff very helpful.
THE RESTAURANT: we went for Boxing Day lunch. The food was excellent.
REASONS FOR ONLY 4 STARS: it was dark when we arrived & although we were told where our lodge was you can't see any numbers so was a little hard to find!
In the kitchen was a selection of teas etc but the coffee had been opened and left, there was also 2 other feedback cards from previous people saying the same thing still left.
The service in the restaurant was very slow considering it was almost empty - we got fed up of waiting for someone to take our drinks order so went to the bar to get our own!
Lack of information on activities - asked about the climbing wall but had missed all the slots but wasn't advertised anywhere
OVERALL - we did have an amazing week & the pros greatly outdid the cons!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina L, Customer Service Manager at Cheddar Woods Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and highlighted so many good features about all of our facilities. Thank you also for highlighting the futher points that we will be sure to address.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Street, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We the Carters stayed at cheddar for christmas we had an amazing time the activitys from the Go Active team were brilliant and the staff all round we helpful and friendly. The lodges are lovely its just like home from home. Will deffinatly be back in 2014. Thanks everyone at cheddar woods.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina L, Customer Services Manager at Cheddar Woods Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Cheddar Woods on our first Christmas and look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

The smiths could not recommend this place enough, staying at Cheddar Woods holiday park has made a short break in December one to remember. The condition of the lodges lived up to the high standard stated in previous reviews,with our first reaction as we entered the lodge being "WOW".

The layout of the park is fantastic, with each lodge having its own driveway for the car and space outside for the kids the play safely, this proved to be a very nice touch. For the lodges, well where do I start, flat screen TVs in all bedrooms and a nice 42" above the tranquil fire place. Options to have smooth classy low lighting which helped for a relaxed evening, or each quarter of the living space having its own lighting so you don't blind others when making a cup of tea.

We had two meals in the restaurant which were fantastic, kind and outgoing staff only complimented a lovely evening. By the restaurant there is a Golf Simulator and a bowling alley, made me wish I booked a fortnight!

I could go on and on with compliments for this place, but all that matters is we will return with other family members in the very near future.


The Smiths

Room Tip: Choose any of the accommodations, you wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina L, Customer Services Manager at Cheddar Woods Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Smith Family

Thank you so much for this lovely review. We are so pleased that you had such a good break ready for the festive period and that you enjoyed all of the finishing touches.

I'm sure we will see you again soon to get some time on the golf simulator.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheddar
6.7 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
6.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Webbington Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
17.6 mi away
Bath Mill Lodge Retreat
1.1 mi away
Bath Arms Hotel
Bath Arms Hotel
#1 of 11 in Cheddar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheddar Woods Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheddar Woods Resort & Spa

Property: Cheddar Woods Resort & Spa
Address: Axbridge Road, Cheddar BS27 3DB, England (Formerly Cheddar Woods Holiday Home Park)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Cheddar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Cheddar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Cheddar Woods Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the beautiful Mendip Hills, Cheddar Woods is the perfect place to relax and unwind. Breath taking scenery awaits you at our state of the art park - brand new for Summer 2013. Cheddar Woods is the ideal location for family holidays. Set in an area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, our fabulous park boasts beautifully furnished lodges both to purchase and to book for holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cheddar Woods Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway House Holiday Park Hotel Cheddar
Cheddar Woods Resort & Spa Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing