We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for our family, they go the extra mile”
Review of Gordons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gordons Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Cheddar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at this hotel a couple of weeks before Christmas with our family - 6 adults and 2 toddlers. We couldn't have wished for a better hotel in a fabulous location.

The staff were exceptional providing a service that we could not fault. The rooms were spacious, clean and warm.

The breakfasts were excellent. All in all a wonderful break and we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RKB1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 273 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

Great location for my business trip. Parking opposite. All very friendly and English breakfast was first class. The room was clean tidy and wasn't 100 degrees as so many places are. Lounge area was comfy and relaxing. Town is 5 min walk.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HampshireNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

You don't come to Cheddar for a B&B and as it was, this place sufficed for our needs.

To be honest, after checking in, we didn't see anyone until we checked out so thy seemed friendly enough. The place is clean but I thought the room small and the plumbing could do with being looked at so as to keep the decibels down every time you flush or use the hand basin.

But its ok and will do you a reasonable job so no complaints.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoftusroadW12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed at this hotel while attending a wedding nearby.

On arrival we received an extremely warm and friendly welcome. Our room was clean, spacious, comfortable and well equipped.

Breakfast was exceptional !

The only down side for me was the room did not have a shower but rooms with showers are available.
I thoroughly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Caire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have just returned from our 7th stay at Gordons. We return every year for a 3 night stay. We only have good things to say about this place. Clean, welcoming and a fantastic location. We always ask for the same room and we always get it. Sue always remembers us and welcomes us with a big smile and warm welcome, the rest of the staff are always friendly and helpful too. The breakfast is second to none served on piping hot plates, with lots of choices. Not quite sure why it is only 3 out of 10 in Cheddar as to us it is number 1.

Marie & Martin, Northants

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed in this hotel whilst attending a family celebration in the area. The hotel is very comfortable and well situated. The lady owner is very friendly and extremely helpful. The breakfast was very tasty and I would not hesitate to stay again when we are next in the area.

Room Tip: Some rooms have showers and some only have baths. If you have a preference it would probably be wish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caledonia8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is an ideal place to stay in Cheddar it's so central! Very nice rooms friendly staff and excellent breakfasts. I definitely recommend this hotel. My friends and I enjoy walking so will definitely be back sometime soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheddar hotels
0.3 mi away
Bath Arms Hotel
Bath Arms Hotel
#1 of 12 in Cheddar
215 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nyland Manor
Nyland Manor
#3 of 12 in Cheddar
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arundel House
Arundel House
#7 of 12 in Cheddar
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
#1 of 1 in Cheddar
678 reviews
1 mi away
Cheddar Woods Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
YHA Cheddar
YHA Cheddar
#4 of 8 in Cheddar
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gordons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordons Hotel

Address: Cliff Street, Cheddar BS27 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Cheddar
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Cheddar
Price Range: $122 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gordons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Gordons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gordons Hotel Cheddar, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing