We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gordons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gordons Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Cheddar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Really very good”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Great location for my business trip. Parking opposite. All very friendly and English breakfast was first class. The room was clean tidy and wasn't 100 degrees as so many places are. Lounge area was comfy and relaxing. Town is 5 min walk.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    32
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
48
123
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
311 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

You don't come to Cheddar for a B&B and as it was, this place sufficed for our needs.

To be honest, after checking in, we didn't see anyone until we checked out so thy seemed friendly enough. The place is clean but I thought the room small and the plumbing could do with being looked at so as to keep the decibels down every time you flush or use the hand basin.

But its ok and will do you a reasonable job so no complaints.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoftusroadW12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sg188hd
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel while attending a wedding nearby.

On arrival we received an extremely warm and friendly welcome. Our room was clean, spacious, comfortable and well equipped.

Breakfast was exceptional !

The only down side for me was the room did not have a shower but rooms with showers are available.
I thoroughly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Caire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have just returned from our 7th stay at Gordons. We return every year for a 3 night stay. We only have good things to say about this place. Clean, welcoming and a fantastic location. We always ask for the same room and we always get it. Sue always remembers us and welcomes us with a big smile and warm welcome, the rest of the staff are always friendly and helpful too. The breakfast is second to none served on piping hot plates, with lots of choices. Not quite sure why it is only 3 out of 10 in Cheddar as to us it is number 1.

Marie & Martin, Northants

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed in this hotel whilst attending a family celebration in the area. The hotel is very comfortable and well situated. The lady owner is very friendly and extremely helpful. The breakfast was very tasty and I would not hesitate to stay again when we are next in the area.

Room Tip: Some rooms have showers and some only have baths. If you have a preference it would probably be wish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caledonia8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is an ideal place to stay in Cheddar it's so central! Very nice rooms friendly staff and excellent breakfasts. I definitely recommend this hotel. My friends and I enjoy walking so will definitely be back sometime soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have used the Gordons Hotel for a few years now. Absolutely fantastic and have nothing at all bad to say about it. Very comfotable and the breakfasts are superb. We normally go as a group of bikers from the same family. Six people total usually although our kids have drove and met us there occasionally, and stayed themselves. We have stayed in the main hotel and the barn conversion overlooking the swimming pool. Can't fault either, although, we all like booking the barn conversion side to make it easier for us to chill out together. Sue is brilliant. Always cheerful, friendly and very easy to get on with. As all the rest of the staff are too. Looking forward to staying there next year again.

Austin, Lucy and the rest of the Heeley gang from Carlisle.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheddar
5.7 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
957 reviews
6.3 mi away
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
#1 of 1 in Cheddar
594 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Webbington Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol Sidcot (A38) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Bath Arms Hotel
Bath Arms Hotel
#1 of 11 in Cheddar
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gordons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordons Hotel

Property: Gordons Hotel
Address: Cliff Street, Cheddar BS27 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Cheddar
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Cheddar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gordons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gordons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gordons Hotel Cheddar, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing