We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Little Gem!”
other travelers have booked this property
Welcome to The Place, Bath
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Place, Bath
The spacious, welcoming  bedroom The view from the living room on a misty autumn day
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Welcome to The Place, Bath
The spacious, welcoming  bedroom
The view from the living room on a misty autumn day
Another view of the huge but cosy bedroom
The living area
and again...
Looking into the kitchen from the living area
The spacious, light-filled kitchen
Modern, fully equipped kitchen
The living area
The modern, well-equipped ensuite
Power shower and ensuite detail
The kitchen area
The living area from the kitchen
Light and bright living area
Stylish furnishings
The Place!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Edward W
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Little Gem!”
Reviewed August 1, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Everything you could want from a beautiful cottage in Bath. The Place was lovely, nice decor and very clean, and a stunning view over the city.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobicat
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The Place IS the place to stay”
Reviewed July 27, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

If you are two people (or one) looking for a holiday apartment in Bath, The Place is the place to choose. A charming, beautifully furnished, stylishly decorated, two-floor apartment, just ten minutes walk from the station and centre of Bath where everything has been thought of for visitors' comfort. From the breakfast pack, to the decanter of sherry, chocolates, bathrobes and slippers, restaurant recommendations and local information, nothing has been missed.
The apartment has been arranged for the bedroom and en-suite shower room/lavatory to be on the ground floor. The sitting room, with dining table and chairs and well appointed kitchen are upstairs giving the benefit of the stunning view of the skyline of Bath through the French windows in the sitting room. There is an additional upstairs lavatory on this floor. There is also a patio area with seating and chairs on the ground floor. There is parking in the driveway of the property which is attached to the main house.
We had a lovely time in Bath and it was in large part down to The Place and the warmth and welcome of the owners Sarah and Michael. The downhill walk to the town is fine but as we found out, the uphill return walk is somewhat challenging as previously advised in the information pack. We took the owners’ advice and used taxis back for the rest of our stay. These appear to be plentiful and are also inexpensive. We would go back in an instant and already have recommended it to friends.
We highly recommend The Place and thank Sarah and Michael for making our visit to Bath a very happy memory.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: That walk up the hill
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lops51
Misgav
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed June 22, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

In the owners’ words ‘The Place’ is a “luxurious, romantic yet cosy holiday apartment ‘pour deux’ and that’s exactly what it was for us. Absolutely perfect for our stay in Bath.

It’s spotlessly clean and Sarah certainly has a good eye - the design and decoration wouldn’t be out of place in any leading magazine. Every detail has been thought of to make it comfortable and a welcome ‘home’ to return to at the end of each day. We weren’t short of a thing and the king size bed was very comfortable.

Michael and Sarah were very friendly and helpful hosts who gave us all the privacy we wanted and were there when we needed them. Their restaurant and touring recommendations were very helpful.

The location is great - outside of the bustle of the city but an easy walk or taxi ride (a bit of a hill on the way back). It’s very quiet and the view from upstairs is beautiful.

It should be noted that the property overlooks the owners’ beautiful garden but guests do not have access to the garden. There is a small enclosed patio for guests’ use.

No hesitation in recommending “The Place”, really pleased to have found it - we loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Very aesthetic, clean, felt like home
Liked least: The small patio
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrannyPen
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed June 6, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Covered with wisteria, this Georgian Bath house looks beautiful from the outside..inside it was amazing! Beautifully decorated, with upstairs sitting room and large open-plan kitchen to take in the views of green English countryside. Downstairs bedroom with large bathroom and garden patio. All the rooms were very spacious but cosy.
So many words describe The Place..wonderful ambiance, comfortable, bright and clean. Incredibly well equipped.. We did appreciate all the little touches including the food parcel, chocolates and Prosecco.
It was the perfect place for our holiday..2 homesick Bathites living in New Zealand!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and ambiance and parking
Liked least: Walk up the hill..in our late 60s and we needed the exercise after good meals in Bath!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H
1 review
“A luxury apartment in a peaceful part of Bath.”
Reviewed June 2, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We are very reluctant to write a review of 'The Place'' because we don't want to share it! The apartment is beautiful. Stylish decor and funishings and a heavenly bed. The owners are really nice people but not at all intrusive. Provided lots of extras. The location was perfect for us, an uphill short walk from the city centre. Beautiful walks nearby. Lovely views of the city from the first floor sitting room. We will certainly go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wyattDoc
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Highest recommendations for The Place”
Reviewed May 26, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Our stay at "The Place" on Cambridge Terrace, Bath, UK was fantastic. The Place is beautiful, lots of blue-and-white and perfectly suited for visit to the incredible town of Bath. It is well appointed, with a full kitchen, pots & pans, a full-size shower (much appreciated, as I am 6'-5"), and a king size bed. the lower bedroom has a beautiful private siting areas, and the upstairs living/kitchen has has amazing views of the city. All of this is situated only 5 minutes down the hill form the Widcombe shops (coffee, deli, launderette, thai massage, grocery...) and only another 5-10 min walk to the City Centre & train station.

It is a bit of a slog up Widcombe Hill, but I liked it; your mileage may vary. Also, there are stairs inside, so it may not be suitable for disabled or anyone with difficulty walking or climbing stairs.

Sarah and Michael have setup a fantastic little spot for visiting Bath, with everything you need: a good location, privacy, views, a parking space, proximity to trains. My highest recommendations, and a promise that I will return as soon as possible!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: splashy sink in main bathroom
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleS...
Cheltenham
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect place in Bath”
Reviewed May 4, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I was so lucky to find this place, it was lovely and the owners could not be more helpful. I wish my own home was as nice. It was more like your own personal hotel with all the little extras you could possibly want. The bed was comfy and I slept really well. Just outside the centre of bath up a hill, the walk down took me only 20mins and rather nice it was. Being lazy got a taxi back up, only cost me around £5 and well worth it after a day walking around the town.

I would definitely recommend 'the place' to anyone and I would be happy to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing