We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take your time and enjoy”
Review of Raphael Restaurant

Raphael Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 583 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $52
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Take your time and enjoy”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Yet another great meal on Saturday 10th. A late lunch in one of our favorite bistro restaurants and as always fabulous service from the very friendly staff was matched by some delights. We mixed the menus between the set lunch, al a carte and specials something lots of places won't allow but not here. A great smoked mackerel pâté, cold pea soup and fresh seafood linguine started the meal off with flying colours and finished it all off with the trio of desserts, mouthwatering again! if your visiting please give the staff the time to prepare great fresh food, don't rush it before the theatre, book early and enjoy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    166
    32
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and great service”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The small restaurant looks very nice from the outside and was quite busy but we got a nice table for dinner. The decor is stylish and resembles Paris so it was a lovely setting. The young ladies serving were very friendly and helpful and drinks were reasonable for price and quickly served. We only had some nibbles for starter and went straight to main course. It was freshly prepared and cooked so a little wait but when the meals arrived they were both outstanding. I had a pork dish and my wife a lamb dish and the flavours were fantastic - as were the vegetables. This was the best food we had tasted in many years so I would really suggest it is well worth a visit.The meals were less than £20 each and decent wine is less than £20 so great value for money indeed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoeGraham379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M V, Manager at Raphael Restaurant, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review.
We look forward to welcoming you back at Raphael on your next trip to Bath.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The definition of French bistro!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Having been to Paris recently, we were pleasantly surprised to find Raphael's in Bath. Service was attentive but not annoying, food was amazing (potato-leek soup was superb), and atmosphere was classic bistro. Try it, you'll love it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hungry-Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What a dinner”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I ate here on a Wednesday night in July 2013, we were the only other table taken but don't let this put you off, our main course of Scallops and my husbands lamb was truly divine. Our rosé wine was so nice we ordered two bottles! I had the tasting platter for dessert- wow it was so good. Will definitely come back for food again- staff were charming

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alice80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M V, Manager at Raphael Restaurant, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We are very happy that you had nice time in our restaurant.
Thank you very much for your amazing review :)))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“first class food and service”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Been twice now. Both times on weekend visits to bath and the food was top draw with a classy atmosphere. Excellent wine and I had an excellent fillet steak. My wife had the duck which was also superb.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnyhatesjars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M V, Manager at Raphael Restaurant, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you very much :)))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raphael Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Raphael Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing