We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful...and amazing for vegetarians”

The Bath Priory Restaurant
Ranked #112 of 606 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $34 - $135
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: At the heart of the hotel is our celebrated 3 AA Rosette restaurant, with magnificent views across the hotel’s award-winning gardens. Our menu offers a memorable culinary journey with a focus on fresh local produce, flavour and balance to create exciting, modern French dishes epitomising the best seasonal dining. Complemented by an exemplary wine cellar and exceptional insight from our Head Sommelier we ensure every detail of your dining experience is perfectly paired. Join us for lunch, dinner or afternoon tea or sample lighter bites in The Pantry.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I have eaten here a few times in recent years and the Bath Priory has always provided a wonderful experience all round.

The setting is magnificent, it's a joy to wander round the grounds admiring he huge variety of flowers, shrubs, trees and the vegetable plot.

Inside the rooms are gorgeous, always calming and elegant.

My sister is vegetarian and twice now we have ordered Taster menus, I have the omnivorous version and she loves the vegetarian taster menu - both with 7 courses. Every course is a delight. And whilst it is more expensive it is excellent value as you get so much more variety of taste, so much more of an experience. There is more theatre and a deeper level of appreciation in a taster menu. And you're still as satiated at the end of the meal.

And I have never known a restaurant to cater so well for vegetarians, nowhere near.

I have no complaints about any meal at Bath Priory. The staff and service is always excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Suzanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Suzanne N,

Wow, what a review. Sam and the team are delighted with your comments, it is especially nice to be acknowledged for our vegetarian offering as Sam spends alot of time constructing all his menus so we can welcome all guests what ever the preference or dietary requirement they might have.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

regards
Andrew
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 312 of 563 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2014

Once again we were not disappointed. Booked for the set lunch, and it was the best cooked piece of pollack I'v ever eaten. Moist, flaky and delicious. My husband love the local Dexter beef saying it was the most tender piece of beef he'd had for a very long time. The local cheese board was varied and just the right amount to finish the meal. Everything else was also up to its usual very high standard. We love the place for a special meal or a lovely relaxing lunch. You do not feel at all rushed to leave before you're ready, unlike some establishments. We will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Melfjos,

Its always lovely to welcome back guests and it looks like we didn't disappoint. Thank you for posting your wonderful review about your dining experience.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This was our 4th or 5th lunch at The Priory, it has never been less than excellent each time.
It's a genuine treat eating here - allow about 3 hours for your visit! Although I'm sure they can speed things up if you want.
On arrival we sat in the drawing room for aperitifs and canapes. The house rose was delicious, and the mini mushroom risotto arancini the winner of best canape. So good.
We ate off the set lunch menu, which at £25 for 3 courses is a total steal. Before our starters we were served a fantastic asparagus soup. This was followed by salt beef (for me) and river Fowey mussels (for my partner). The mussels were the winner, I've never had mussels with such a shellfishy taste, totally moreish.
Mains were Cornish pollack (for me) and lamb (for my partner). The fish won again. Actually, the fish has been the best dish every time we've eaten there. The buerre noisette mash served with the fish was gigglingly good - properly, properly good. I'll be trying to make some of that!
Puds were great also, they always seem to offer a souffle which never disappoints.
After lunch we took a stroll around their beautiful gardens, a really nice way to pass 20-30 mins after such a good meal. As the clouds broke we decided to have coffee and petit fours on the terrace. It was a nice touch piping Happy Birthday in white chocolate on my plate (or should that be slate), and it went beautifully with the mango panna cotta and confit pineapple.
Clearly the kitchen is staffed by talented and enthusiastic chefs, and the front of house staff are unfailingly polite and helpful. If you fancy treating yourself, take the afternoon off and head here for a thoroughly satisfying time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Whats_for_tea_today
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Whats_for_tea_to...

Now that's a review! I know that Sam and the team are delighted to read such high praise.

You must come back in the Autumn when we have the roaring fires in the Drawing room and Sam has created another seasonal masterpiece of a menu.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

A table reserved for 4 people, coats taken, shown to a lounge area for canapés. Oil paintings and bookshelves and a feel of total grandeur and opulence.
This then was the theme for the whole evening and we were served by staff who clearly took a real pride in their job and their surroundings.
Their manners, knowledge of etiquette and friendliness was on a higher level.
Each course was introduced and explained and my personal favourite touch was the waiters/waitresses having eye contact to coordinate the placing of the plates at exactly the same time. Amazing attention to detail like this has made this restaurant stand head and shoulders above anywhere I have ever dined at before.
The food was exquisite and faultlessly presented with the staff having a knowledge of each dish and the origin of it's components. Again, a very nice experience for the diner.
After dinner, coffee and petit fours in yet another sumptuous lounge with a veritable art gallery of oil paintings! And then the night was over.
In summary, classy without being stuffy and we would definitely like to come back again in the future.

Thank Rob_Wilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Rob_Wilts

Thank you so much for the amazing review. The restaurant team are thrilled that we surpassed your expectations and that you and your table appreciated their service.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This was the most elegant and delicious tea in the most lovely setting! We had a full afternoon tea on the beautiful terrace at the Priory overlooking the exquisite gardens. Staff were attentive and welcoming, the food was varied and tasty - including the best scones ever - and the whole experience was amazing from start to finish. Thank you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Susie W

We area delighted that you had such a fabulous Afternoon tea with us. The terrace overlooking the gardens is the perfect place to enjoy such a treat and with the summer almost upon us we hope you can come back soon.

Thank you for posting your review.
Kindest regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bath Priory Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Bath Priory Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing