We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bath Priory Restaurant

The Bath Priory Restaurant
Ranked #119 of 563 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $118
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Bath Priory restaurant in Bath has held a Michelin star since October 2012. Found within the Bath Priory Hotel, a Georgian mansion of honey-coloured stone, it’s a great place when you want sophisticated food in an elegant setting. Executive Chef Sam Moody, creates stellar dishes with a strong emphasis on kitchen garden ingredients with an inventive use of traditional herbs and flowers. Where possible, all meat is locally sourced and the menu sticks closely to what’s in season. "
Brackley
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

We loved the food flavours were amazing and well worth the wait and if you can manage it all try the full taster menu

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank David_CB4000KR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory Restaurant, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear David_CB400KR

Thank you for your short but sweet posting.

We look forward to seeing you back at The Bath Priory in the future.
Regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    88
    48
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Exquisite Food Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

'Perfect' is the best way of summing up our experience of dining in the restaurant of the Bath Priory Hotel. This was our first visit and we had chosen it for the celebration of my Mother's 80th birthday with a party of 8 people. The attention to detail was impressive. We had a personalised menu (loved by my Mother!) coordinated by Executive Head Chef, Sam Moody. He gave much care and attention to her dietary needs (she is coeliac) and prepared an excellent menu combining choice ingredients with an emphasis on locally sourced produce into an exquisite array of flavoursome dishes beautifully presented. All the staff were attentive helpful, and very professional. Thank you!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory Restaurant, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Ali B

We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your mothers special 80th Birthday with us, we love having families celebrating with us, its what the Priory was made for.

We hope the next family celebration will be with us too

kindest regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don't go elsewhere - eat here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We'd booked to stay at this hotel for one night, for a belated birthday treat. Once booked, we hunted around for the best place to eat in Bath - but couldn't decide on where, so chose to book a table at the hotel restaurant. We were so glad we did! What a truly fantastic meal, served by thoroughly delightful staff, all beaming and obviously proud of the food they serve.
The Sommelier is really knowledgeable and made good recommendations regarding both wine and port
All in all, a fantastic experience - why consider going elsewhere?!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory Restaurant, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Nick 8

Could agree more, why go anywhere else?? now we are slightly bais!

On a serious note, we are thrilled to read that you had a wonderful experience with us recently. we look forward to your return in the future.

Best wishes
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Our Best Hotel Michelin Star Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is now our 4th meal at a Michelin Star resturant in a country hotel. While this was our first meal at The Bath Priory it certainly won't be our last. For quality, flavour, service and atmosphere this hotel resturant is by far our best, and rivals some of the great London Michelin restaurants.

In Summary:

Food: We had the tasting menu, which was really exceptional. The kitchen used seasonal ingredients to develop a real culinary treat, with a few dishes which stretched the imagination but worked really well in terms of flavours and complexity. Of particular note was a Tubot with chicken broth, which was pretty special.

Service: Was outstanding! Our drinking glasses were never empty, and the staff knew the dishes really well. Dishes were really well paced throughout the evening and you never felt the meal was either rushed or too slow.

Atmosphere: The hotel itself is really beautiful, what makes this a really lovely experience is that your pre-dinner drinks and canapés are taken in the drawing room, which is a beautiful setting with some lovely old paintings overlooking the grounds. It is a really lovely and peaceful way to pursue the menu (importantly also the wine list), talk with the sommelier and really enjoy the company of your loved ones.

First class... I highly reccomend it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dlane766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory Restaurant, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear dlane766

Wow, thanks for the fantastic review. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful experience from start to finish. We as a team are very proud of what we are trying to achieve here at The Bath Priory and such reviews make all the hard work so worth it.

We are all looking forward to your return visit.
Best wishes
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food in a lovely setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

WE went for lunch on a Sunday but didn't want a traditional Sunday lunch. We chose the tasting menu which was really like a series of lovely canapes... every mouthful was surprising and delicious. We took the Sommelier's advice on wine and had a lovely glass of Riesling to start and a glass of Austrian red (yes Austrian) afterwards. They went well with the food. The staff were attentive and knowledgeable. We were able to have our aperitifs outside overlooking the garden - a treat in mid March!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JeffinerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory Restaurant, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear JeffinerB

I am delighted to read about your Sunday lunch experience at The Bath Priory. Sam creates a fantastic 7 course tasting menu that changes seasonally and although its not quite your normal tradtional Sunday roast, it is delicious and worthy on any occasion.

Keep an eye on our website for our latest offering and you might just feel the need to treat yourselves again.

best wishes
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bath Priory Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Bath Priory Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing