We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Sunday lunch”

The Bath Priory Restaurant
Ranked #124 of 571 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $122
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: At the heart of the hotel is our celebrated Michelin-starred restaurant, with magnificent views across the hotel’s award-winning gardens. Our menu offers a memorable culinary journey with a focus on fresh local produce, flavour and balance to create exciting, modern British dishes epitomising the best seasonal dining. Complemented by an exemplary wine cellar and exceptional insight from our Head Sommelier we ensure every detail of your dining experience is perfectly paired. Join us for lunch, dinner or afternoon tea or sample lighter bites in The Pantry.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday lunch”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

I visited for Sunday lunch. The fixed price menu was excellent value and the food was delicious. Service was very good. Despite the excellent food and resulting positive reviews, there were several free tables which was surprising.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wh5447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    90
    49
    23
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Excellent meal well presented and served, highly recommended. Good wine selection. Already planned to go back for taster menu.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CSH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were recently given a voucher for Afternoon Tea as a gift. This was one of the best teas I have ever had. Lovely fresh scones with jam & cream. Lovely choice of delicious cakes & sandwiches. Tea pot refilled when requested. We were given our leftovers in a cake box to take home as there was no way we could finish it all.
This may seem expensive at £35 for two but it is worth every penny. The hotel has beautiful gardens where you can sit on the terrace if fine but the interior is lovely as well.
Well worth treating yourself.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delightful good value lunch”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Bath Priory is a lovely hotel in a charming setting staffed by a professional and helpful team. We had lunch for four recently and were advised no jeans or trainers (please note that neither Gidleigh Park nor Lucknam Park which we visited in the same week stipulate such a dress requirement - which makes the Priory seem rather old fashioned and out of touch). But regardless of dress code the lunch we had was excellent - and very good value indeed. The gardens looked delightful although we did not have the time to wander. I would certainly consider staying at The Priory when next in Bath. A starter of curried monkfish was delicately flavoured. The main course of lamb was excellent. But the star of the event was the pistachio and olive oil cake for dessert which was moist, not too sweet and accompanied by a white chocolate sauce which was a touch of heaven. Charming setting, charming staff and excellent food well priced. Who could ask for more?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yolanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was my first dining experience at Bath Priory and I hope won't be my last. Everything about the meal from the hospitality and service to the food, wine, and presentation was delicious, impeccable, and first rate. The occasion was a celebration with work colleagues and we were delighted by a multi-course meal with an incredible flight of wines to accompany each course. The portions were perfect and served with much grandeur by a very able staff. The sommelier, in particular, took the time to explain each wine and to answer our questions as the courses were served. And the soufflé is a must - light, delicious, and beautifully presented. All in all a stunning meal. The chef and his staff are to be commended; I could not recommend Bath Priory more highly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RedBricks1870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bath Priory Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Bath Priory Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing