We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bath Priory Restaurant

The Bath Priory Restaurant
Ranked #120 of 563 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $118
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Bath Priory restaurant in Bath has held a Michelin star since October 2012. Found within the Bath Priory Hotel, a Georgian mansion of honey-coloured stone, it’s a great place when you want sophisticated food in an elegant setting. Executive Chef Sam Moody, creates stellar dishes with a strong emphasis on kitchen garden ingredients with an inventive use of traditional herbs and flowers. Where possible, all meat is locally sourced and the menu sticks closely to what’s in season. "
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Outstanding meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had a group of 8 at the Priory for dinner after being married in the morning at the Roman Baths, and we had a lovely time. The service was fantastic, as were the wine suggestions and quality of the food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mettrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    89
    48
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A unique dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Visiting the UK to celebrate my uncle's 70th birthday, we decided to mark the actual event at the Bath Priory. It was a pricey venture, but a lovely and very memorable experience. We were greeted outside the second our taxi dropped us off and they instantly offered to take our picture since we were clearly enamored with the Priory the instant we saw it. We were served cocktails and actually reviewed the menu and placed our order for dinner in their lovely living room and backyard gardens -- which I particularly loved given how long we would sit in the dining room. Truth be told, I don't even remember what I ate, but I do remember it was delicious and the service was perfect -- arriving just when needed, but never interrupting conversations. For a special occasion, I would recommend the Priory in a heartbeat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SeattleSooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprise menu Very poor and boring not worth the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We have been to the priory several times.
We thought for our wedding anniversary we would go to the priory.
We choose the surprise menu at £100 each plus the wines with the meal an extra £80 each. Please don't bother the food was very bland and not special at all. We were completely disappointed not only with the food but the wine also. I would suggest if people are going that you pick off the menu and know what you are going to get. This is the first time I have ever felt I dgould right a review.
But there are better places in Bath to eat and more fun. This is by far the worst value meal we have ever had.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Blatchys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Impeccable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Weekends in Bath can be very crowded affairs but just on the outskirts of the busy city centre, is the lovely Bath Priory. The restaurant is pricey but the lunch menu is outstanding value - beautifully presented, deliciously prepared local produce. I especially enjoyed the cheese plate and was pleased I had only had a very light breakfast!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarlzL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Undermining the hotel's excellence”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at the hotel which is superb but the restaurant did not live up to expectations. Service was slow and inexperienced, one head waiter warranted a reprimand for speaking sharply to a disappointed customer. Sous chef made a pig's ear out of a silk purse. A disaster for a special decade birthday. Next day breakfast saw eggs benedict like bullets after a 20 minute wait - returned and a replacement was present within minutes.

To his great credit, the next morning Chef apologised and tried to make amends but trust by that time was lost. His reputation is being ruined by his staff.

We shall return if only for the location, rooms and garden. But what a terrible shame about a restaurant ambience to die for undermined by incompetent brigades.

We must acknowledge the final bill was amended accordingly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Icanhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bath Priory Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Bath Priory Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing