We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bath Priory Restaurant

The Bath Priory Restaurant
Ranked #116 of 563 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $119
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Bath Priory restaurant in Bath has held a Michelin star since October 2012. Found within the Bath Priory Hotel, a Georgian mansion of honey-coloured stone, it’s a great place when you want sophisticated food in an elegant setting. Executive Chef Sam Moody, creates stellar dishes with a strong emphasis on kitchen garden ingredients with an inventive use of traditional herbs and flowers. Where possible, all meat is locally sourced and the menu sticks closely to what’s in season. "
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Special Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have had the most amazing lunches at the Priory over several years, this is our special place ! The ambience is friendly, welcoming and very informal. Expect lunch to last all afternoon, service is genuine and professional, the food is always exquisite as are the grounds. Make sure you take the opportunity to walk around the gardens and veg plot before you have your coffee & petit four !

I recommend this for birthday's and special occasions - you will not be disappointed. Lunch is the best value experience. One word of caution when they offer you Champagne when you arrive it is not complimentary !

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Renee194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    88
    48
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb Anniversary Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Our first visit to the Priory since Sam Moody took on Head Chef role and we could not have had a better evening. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and I cannot find a single thing to criticize about our visit and at 4.5 hours, that is some achievement. The service was friendly, efficient and always professional from the initial "happy anniversary" greeting through to fond farewells at the end.

The food was outstanding throughout the 11 or 12 courses of the "surprise menu". Had it been anything less there is no way we could have eaten such quantities. Each course a wonderful collection of textures and flavours and presented with real aplomb. Although it was a surprise menu we were able to ensure the turbot dish we wanted was included and we were so glad as it was possibly the finest dish either of us have ever tasted.

The Bath Priory is not the cheapest but in terms of value, there are no complaints from these diners. Keep up the good work Sam and team and thanks for giving us a truly memorable meal on this great celebration.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A special meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

An amazing treat. We had the tasting menu which was excellent. We didn't match wines to courses but asked the sommelier to recommend a wine for the whole meal which of course he did with aplomb. We loved having our aperatifs and amuse bouches in the lounge which was so welcoming and comfortable. We also returned there for tea and petits fours after our meal. I only wish I'd had room to finish them all...but the macaroon was to die for.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Wonderful treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Took my boyfriend here for his birthday. The place itself feels special. We started the the drawing room with canapés and champagne before heading through to the main dining room. We went for the tasting menu together with the flight of wines. This is one of the more expensive options but well worth it. There are seven courses each paired with a different glass of wine. The food was fantastic but you really need to not eat all day to fully appreciate it all. Each course is tiny but by pudding my dress was in danger of giving way.

Only thing I would say was that in contrast to the previous review, we could chat happily but did wish they would have told the party of four near us to pipe down. One of them was a city financier (as he kept proclaiming loudly) who was loud and obnoxious bragging about money and parties. Knocked his red wine over twice while flailing his arms around. Spoilt what for us would have been a perfect classy evening. Our total bill came to £370 for two of us but as stated we did pick a rather expensive option.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shoelover009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Dined here 2 years ago. Really great food. Great atmosphere, bridging the line between uncomfortably formal and disappointingly relaxed with aplomb! Made for a brilliant romantic getaway in conjunction with the beautiful hotel.

Not sure why it lost the Michelin star (just before we came), but certainly we had significantly better food than the two relatively nearby (across the bridge!) Michelin-rated restaurants I have been to subsequently!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveJones2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bath Priory Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Bath Priory Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing