We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my favourite restaurants” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yak Yeti Yak

Yak Yeti Yak
Ranked #35 of 563 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Asian, Tibetan, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: If the name of this restaurant alone isn't enough to make you want to dine here, then we'll eat our Dhaka topi hats. However, in case you need any further incentive – we're delighted to say that this super-cosy establishment is superb. With whitewashed walls and brightly coloured hand-woven cushions, the Nepalese dining room at Yak Yeti Yak in Bath is warm, peaceful, and popular with a fresh-faced crowd who look like they climb mountains just for fun. While - as far as we can tell - there is no actual yeti on the menu, there are plenty of other star attractions such as the Yak Yeti Yak Beef – spicy beef stir-fried with onions, sweet peppers and tomatoes.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of my favourite restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

A grim winters night on a pre-Christmas break, nipped down to this basement level restaurant for a warm welcome and a superb meal. We have been a few times before when visiting Bath and have never been disappointed. The food is uniquely spiced and present on metallic plates and bowls. The portions look small when delivered but the serving bowls are tardis like.
Not the expansive menu of many indian or thai restaurants but what they do they do really well. One of my favourite restaurants.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    723
    311
    83
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stumbled across this place by accident for my first visit, but been a couple of times since.

It's a really charming restaurant, that serves very tasty Nepalese food in a unique environment. Lots of Himalayan memorabilia decorates the restaurant and some of the seating is cushions on the floor.

Service is attentive and friendly and it offers more than reasonable value for money.

Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank craigodile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yes Yeti Yes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

I have been to Bath several times and always seen this hidden little restaurant but it was always full. So for this trip we pre-booked and so glad we did. The decor is cosy and gives you a feel of Nepal. The food was delicious and different to other cuisines. The Momos Pork were sublime and the surprise of the evening was the Chiyaa Ice-cream - very good, a must.
Service was extremely quick and all staff were very freindly. Would definitely go here again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vandyke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Great food, our first time in a Nepalese restaurant and really enjoyed it. A nice friendly atmosphere and really good service! Would definitely recommend.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank World_Wide_05_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Must be the freshest, spicy food in Bath, the staff are exceptionally lovely and efficient. If not a local you could sadly miss this great, different venue and the Yeti's footprints on the ceiling! We have taken many of our friends visiting Bath there and they have all loved it and the food served in those lovely heavy brass bowls is a great touch.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lowercamden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yak Yeti Yak also viewed

 

Been to Yak Yeti Yak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing