We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nepalese cuisine at its best and most original !!!”
Review of Yak Yeti Yak

Yak Yeti Yak
Ranked #37 of 577 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: If the name of this restaurant alone isn't enough to make you want to dine here, then we'll eat our Dhaka topi hats. However, in case you need any further incentive – we're delighted to say that this super-cosy establishment is superb. With whitewashed walls and brightly coloured hand-woven cushions, the Nepalese dining room at Yak Yeti Yak in Bath is warm, peaceful, and popular with a fresh-faced crowd who look like they climb mountains just for fun. While - as far as we can tell - there is no actual yeti on the menu, there are plenty of other star attractions such as the Yak Yeti Yak Beef – spicy beef stir-fried with onions, sweet peppers and tomatoes.
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nepalese cuisine at its best and most original !!!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We visited the restaurant on Sunday 11th August 2013 to celebrate my 50th birthday. We were greeted by a happy smiley attentive waitress who showed us to our table and gave us a menu each and an extensive wine and beer menu. After a short time she returned to take our drinks order. As we wanted to remain purely original we chose the Khukri beer which was very refreshing. After a further reasonable time gap the friendly waitress returned to take our order and although we were familiar with most of the menu choices we asked her advice on what extra complimentary side dishes we needed with the mains. She gave us informed, knowledgeable recommendations which perfectly made our main course and even more pleasurable culinary experience. The starters arrived in very good time and were beautiful with an abundance of flavour and the portion size was very generous. The mains again arrived in good time and were beautifully presented on original Nepalese tableware.Again the food was overflowing with flavour and the portion size again was very generous so much so that we gave the sweets a body swerve. The overall dining experience was first class and it was a fitting treat to celebrate my "half century" and the final very pleasant surprise was the incredibly reasonable bill which was £50 for 2 starters, 2 mains, 2 side dishes and 4 Khukri beers. We would recommend this purely original Nepalese restaurant to any discerning diner visiting the beautiful city of Bath.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YummyJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    760
    324
    87
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great restaurant good food reasonable prices, service very good something different to try under ground but has a court yard garden

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank heatherwakeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Yummy!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

What a find, such a little gem of a place. Warm service and most importantly delicious food. Brilliantly spiced, we enjoyed every mouthful. This is the first time my boyfriend and I had been to a Nepalese restaurant and we couldn't recommend this restaurant enough. I just wish it was closer to where we live!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've ever had in a restaurant”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

It is very rare that I am unable to talk whilst enjoying my food. That happened here.

We skipped having starters in favour of a Bheri Breeze (house special) and some refreshing Nepalese beer.

For mains, two of us shared 3 dishes, including the Yak Yeti Yak Chicken, the Hario Simi ra Aloo (green beans) and the Pork Bhutuwa, the latter blew our minds - the pork was so tender and delicious flavours. We shared these dishes along with the Bhuteko Bhat rice dish and the Maasko Dal. We cleared our plates and I could've licked mine clean! We then shared the spiced tea ice-cream, which was really different and refreshing.

The service was attentive and very friendly. The food was reasonable priced. The decor was rustic and basically I now want to visit Nepal even more so than I did before!

Something different and exciting - give it a try!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
“Tasty, friendly and really nice”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Yak Yeti Yak is a mix between good food and friendly and relaxed environment. I highly recommend it for having a cute night between friends or with your couple.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Virllin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yak Yeti Yak also viewed

 
Bath, Somerset
 

Been to Yak Yeti Yak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing