We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“little gem hidden away”

Thai Basil Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Thai Basil Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #126 of 574 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $23
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“little gem hidden away”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Papaya Salad was amazing - with all the favour well balanced
Chicken Satay was grilled not deep fried like most places, served with a succulent peanut satay sauce and coconut cream.

Sea bass was cooked beautifully with mango salad just right, not overpowering the delicate fish.
Kaeng pa, the jungle curry was almost as good as what I had in Thailand. The kaffir lime, lemongrass, green pepper corns, galangal, garlic, eggplant nothing missing.

Definitely coming back

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank FineDineEatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    70
    24
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thai experience”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a meal here on Sunday the 26th May 2013 and the food was really good. However, I have to say the warmth of the waiting staff left a bit to be desired especially after experiencing the true warmth of the Thai people. Since the food was really good I guess that is all that matters. Would recommend this restaurant to others.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Came here yesterday as we often do when in Bath, as usual food was first class and service impeccable - lovely lady who served us was charming - totally made my day.

Can't wait to return

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank someoldgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“...i'd definitely recommend this restaurant to my friends and would go back again without a doubt!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We chose this restaurant based on other TA reviews,and we were not disappointed. The food was really tasty,the service was pleasant and polite,and the restaurant was attractive. And,the bill only came to £80 with a bottle of wine,two beers,starter platters for 3,rice,noodles and 3 main courses! I'd definitely recommend this restaurant to my friends and would go back again without a doubt.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cj2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Lovely meal, very reasonably priced, good service. Only fault was the rice was a bit stodgy, but other than that the food was great. Had the set menu, all of which was delicious, and represented good value for money. Overall, not a flashy dining experience, just some decent Thai food in a pleasant atmosphere.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Basil Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Thai Basil Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing