We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inventive fresh food”

The Circus Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 571 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $30
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Small, busy, much admired, family-run restaurant; serving seasonal, locally sourced, freshly cooked food; charming and welcoming staff; sensible and honest prices. Set in a fine Georgian house in Bath's most beautiful position - between The Circus and The Royal Crescent. Voted number 4 in the United Kingdom by The Times "Twenty secret restaurants that foodies love". Bookings advised.
cincinnati
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Inventive fresh food”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

This was a good find in Bath. Out of the way spot with great fresh locally sourced dishes. Fish line caught and brought in that day. In season veggies. All prepared perfectly. I would highly recommend it. Book ahead.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scrappyCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eatyourgreens, Owner at The Circus Restaurant, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,284
    336
    86
    29
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The food was good but service terible.”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We picked this as a place to dine from our Big Ben Brochure picked up from the guest house we were staying at. There were no conditions listed for discount with this restaurant in the brochure & we advised when ordering we had a Big Ben key tag. When the bill was presented there was no discount & when discount was requested the manager was summoned. Things deteriorated from there! We were advised that the terms had changed & we must have an old brochure, they now only did discount at an evening time spot & were a very busy restaurant. I am not sure what this meant? Maybe they don't have to honour their discount commitment because they are busy restaurant?
The manager further escalated the issue by engaging in an argument with one of our party over the problem, this broke all text book rules on hospitality & customer relations.There were so many better ways of sorting this one out!

I guess the bottom line is we would never recommend a place on these grounds. I have never experienced anything like we did in this situation, all for an insignificant 10% of the bill. The amount did not justify the level that this escalated to & the principal of the matter was certainly called to question. The food was good but not value for money & we left feeling like we should have skipped this "Fine dining experience". Note:- We paid the full listed amount of the bill.
(I could add a lot more on the argument but "enough said". Maybe a practice the Circus staff should observe too.)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Leonard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eatyourgreens, Owner at The Circus Restaurant, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
This man was aggrieved that he couldn't use the local Big Ben tourist discount voucher for a 10% discount on his lunch on a very busy Friday lunchtime. It states clearly and has always stated on the Big Ben literature and on their website that our offer has only ever been Monday to Thursday evenings on tables booked at 5.30 and 6pm. When this was pointed out to him he became so verbally abusive to my staff that my manager had to apologise to the entire restaurant after his departure because of his foul language and unnecessary remonstrance. Indeed one of his party was so embarrassed she also apologised for his appalling behaviour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Went as a couple on a Monday evening. Good sign was that it was busy. Tempting menu, 5 or 6 mains & starters, with a fish of the day in the mains. Crabmeat starter was light, with good flavours. Opted for fish (brill in white wine sauce) and shredded, slow cooked shoulder of pork wrapped in cabbage leaves, which was wonderful. Dessert menu was really tempting, could have happily gone for any of the things on offer - eventually went for pear & peppercorn sorbet, which was superb, a fantastic combination.
Service was attentive, friendly and welcoming, atmosphere relaxed, really good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eatyourgreens, Owner at The Circus Restaurant, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and appraisal of our restaurant. It is much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent food and service”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We do not very often do reviews and are quite fussy but we had to recommend Circus Restaurant.
What a lovely restaurant!!!
The front of house and waitresses were all friendly and efficient
The food was gorgeous. The choice on the menu was so good we had trouble choosing what to have- even 3 choices of bread - granary, rosemary and sourdough.
Even though they were very busy it felt very relaxed and calm.
We would recommend this restaurant to anyone in the Bath area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eatyourgreens, Owner at The Circus Restaurant, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We're so glad that you enjoyed your time with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yallingup, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fine dining at the Circus”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We actually stumbled onto the Circus after a walk back down from the "other circus" to the centre of town and fortunately we were able to get a table being reasonably early but normally booking would be needed.

The food was excellent and while they didn't have too many wines available by the glass they did have some wines in half bottle size which is good for anyone not wanting a whole 750 ml bottle.

Service was excellent and our bright and friendly Canadian waitress was very attentive and a great asset to the restaurant.

It's a bit of a walk up from the centre of town but well worth the effort.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eatyourgreens, Owner at The Circus Restaurant, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thanks so much for your nice review. Glad it was worth the walk up from town in the end!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Circus Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Circus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing