We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful staff and service”

The Circus Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 567 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $30
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Small, busy, much admired, family-run restaurant; serving seasonal, locally sourced, freshly cooked food; charming and welcoming staff; sensible and honest prices. Set in a fine Georgian house in Bath's most beautiful position - between The Circus and The Royal Crescent. Voted number 4 in the United Kingdom by The Times "Twenty secret restaurants that foodies love". Bookings advised.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“wonderful staff and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our wedding anniversary lunch was booked locally but the menu did not suit us. Based on a colleagues experience we tried the Circus instead and thanks to Izzy, Holly, Georgie and Annie the chef/owner it was probably the most enjoyable meal of the year. We each had the sea Bass, 3 pieces served and it was wonderful. The added vegetables were also fantastic quality, including several different items, including heritage carrots which added to the novelty. Thank you ladies.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank guardone2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eatyourgreens, Owner at The Circus Restaurant, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We're so glad you had a good time and that all the girls pulled it off!! Do come and visit us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,267
    333
    84
    28
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We pre booked this restaurant as soon as we knew we were going to be in Bath. Booking may not be absolutely necessary at 19.00 on a Thursday evening but we did get our choice of table and there were a lot of other couples there that evening.
I would have given this 5 stars but my wjfe was a bit disappointed by the soup (she chose cold). However i had the prosciutto with nectarines followed by the goat curry and these were both excellent. The staff were also very friendly. Cost surprisingly reasonable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sirflashpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eatyourgreens, Owner at The Circus Restaurant, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Think your wife may have enjoyed the soup more if it had been hot? We offered the two options on that menu as it has been such a summer of extremes however, we do act on all criticisms and it has been duly noted. Thank you for coming and your general positivity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Circus looks and feels like a cafe, but the menu is more fine dining. I had the Ceviche of Monkfish in lime, and it was delicious, followed by the lamb with an unusual pesto, which was cooked to perfection.

Service was good; they coped with us taking a very long time to choose from the menu, without complaint, and we didn’t at any time feel hurried.

My only gripe is that unlike most fine dining, the meals didn’t come complete with the accompanying vegetables – we had to order separate veg of the day and/or potatoes of the day. That made it feel more like pub grub than the fine dining that the main meals were, and of course it pushed the price up. It felt like unnecessary penny pinching.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenR506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eatyourgreens, Owner at The Circus Restaurant, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We feel we offer good value on the extra vegetables (at just over £1 per head) as they are mostly organically grown and enough portion-wise for two people. Some of our dishes come with vegetables but a lot of people want the options of chips and or salad and or extra veg so we do put it on the menu as extra otherwise it gets too complicated to offer these extras verbally. Even with the veg at an extra cost we are still more reasonably priced than a lot of our competitors in Bath.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Super food, good service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were seated down stairs in their basement dining room. I would have rather been upstairs, or outside the front.

They were extremely busy, however service was prompt and attentive without being in your face. From the imaginative menu I chose monkfish ceviche with wasabi broad bean puree followed by John Dory with Tom Yum lentils. The ceviche was as good as I've had, and the fish was perfectly cooked.

Really tasty food well served.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HitmanHowieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eatyourgreens, Owner at The Circus Restaurant, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. Do come again and we'll try to get you a table upstairs next time if at all possible...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
167 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I had dinner at the Circus last night and I can't say enough good things about it. He had ceviches to start which was beautifully presented and tasty. I had the Devon crab over watercress which was fresh and bright tasting. The contrast between the sweet of the crab and the bitter greens was delightful. We both had the lamb which was cooked perfectly. It was accompanied by a pesto which had gooseberries and pine nuts. Unusual but it sang. For dessert we shared a crime brûlée with black currents. Again, it was not a typical combination (a least in the U.S.) but the tart and the sweet was great. The service was wonderful. Our waiter was fun, helpful (recommended that my boyfriend have the lamb rather than the fish special) and provided attentive but not intrusive service. I would highly recommend this restaurant. Make a reservation or you won't get in. It's a small restaurant and they don't fill every table so that they can provide good service. They sent many people away and it was a Monday night.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank valleytrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eatyourgreens, Owner at The Circus Restaurant, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your positive and very detailed review of The Circus. It is lovely when people go to the trouble of writing such a report and particularly gratifying to the staff who work so hard to get everything to come together every day. Thank you again and do try to come back when you are next in Bath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Circus Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Circus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing