We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Intimate Neighbourhood Choice”

The Circus Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 577 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $30
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Small, busy, much admired, family-run restaurant; serving seasonal, locally sourced, freshly cooked food; charming and welcoming staff; sensible and honest prices. Set in a fine Georgian house in Bath's most beautiful position - between The Circus and The Royal Crescent. Voted number 4 in the United Kingdom by The Times "Twenty secret restaurants that foodies love". Bookings advised.
Westmount, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Small Intimate Neighbourhood Choice”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is right beside "the Circus" so you can walk the circle on the way to the restaurant! And the warm service and atmosphere is a nice welcome. The food is very wholesome and local, including a bottle of British wine (Who knew? - Not bad actually!). Quality of the food + service is high, and plentiful. Good value at a little over GBP100 for three + wine.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,327
    347
    87
    29
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Uk
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“One of the best meals ever!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

The Circus is a fantastic restaurant. Small and cosy the staff are unfailingly friendly and helpful. The food is to die for. I ja the veggie option, butternut squash, Parmesan and rosemary fritters and they were so delicious I ate all 3 even though they were huge! My mum had the sea bass with salsa verde which was spankingly fresh and delicious. Portions are generous so we shared a dessert of quince cooked in muscatel wine. We had never had quince before but it was tart and fragrant and a lovely end to the meal. Prices were reasonable for such exceptional cooking. We will definitely go again when next in Bath and recommend it highly. Book in advance though as its deservedly popular.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scullyx100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SURREY
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A perfect anniversary”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and were recommended a few restaurants in the area. We decided on The Circus and were not disappointed. There is such a wide and varied choice but the end result is fantastic. Staff very helpful and at tentative. Again, the stay in Bath too short but will be telling people to certainly head here when in Bath.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GKAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Superb food and service”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We enjoyed a lovely dinner at this restaurant. The food is a modern take on English food. Most ingredient are locally sourced, fresh. The dishes are imaginative and delicious. The staff are so friendly and helpful. My only regret it that I my stay in Bath was short and I didn't get to dine there more than once.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Giusee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best pudding I have ever had”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This Restaurant was recommended to us by our bed and Breakfast hosts and although we hadn't booked, we popped in to see if there was any chance of a table. Even though it was fully booked, the staff went to great lengths to fit us in. The staff were friendly and attentive and the meal did not disappoint. I had the lamb, which was delicious , followed by a cheese dish with "sticky bread" and celery. This pudding was the best i have ever tasted. It seemed to me that this restaurant is genuinely trying to please it's customers, with food delights, rather than my usual experience of expense without the taste.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Circus Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Circus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing