We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, book first as not much eating space”
Review of Tagine Zhor

Tagine Zhor
Ranked #28 of 571 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Tagine Zhor is an authentic Moroccan restaurant run by the Casablancan Moroccan born owner. He takes pride in his Fez cuisine because it is based on traditional recipes that have been passed down from his loving Fez born grandmother "zhor" to him. It is the only finest Moroccan restaurant in Bath and probably in the whole South West of England. The perfect place to experience real Moroccan food cooked and served in a distinctive and traditional manner together with genuine warm hospitality in absolute beautiful Moroccan surroundings. Most meals begin with the simple selection of hot and cold mezze which might include hommos, Olives and Baba Ghannouj served with flat bread. The Tagine may come next served with Cous Cous, rice or Bread. It is a stew made of lamb, Chicken, Fish, Beef, kofta and Basilla. A single plate of dessert will usually consist of baklawas . They are sweet pastries dripping in honey or dusted in icing sugar marks the end of the meal before fresh mint tea or Arabic coffee are served. Do not forget to take a seat on outdoor terrace and enjoy the Shisha pipe and its flavour of tobacco. Also pay a visit to our gem Bazaar Shop downstairs featuring beautiful and unique handmade Moroccan items "great idea for gifts"
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good food, book first as not much eating space”
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

The cafe du globe, is rather a strange name for a Moroccan restaurant, but the food is good. We tried the hot mezze, and the tag ones are good. Only gripe was that tables are cramped. There is a bazaar by the ladies loo which is a bit strange, can't imagine it ever sells anything!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank alison t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    642
    284
    80
    24
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Fit us in without having booked on a saturday night! Gorgeous food - large portions so come hungry. Service was quick and the waitress explained what all the little dishes were in the Mezze starter. Reasonably priced.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, mostly uninspired food”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We visited this cafe around 7:30 on an extremely slow night (only 2 other tables being served.) The decorations are quite fine and the service is good. The taboulet was very good, but my tagine (a sort of lamb stew) was overcooked and somewhat watery. It would have been better with cous-cous rather than Moroccan bread. The baklava was heavier than others I've tasted and the Arabic coffee was a bit sweet for my taste.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“You could almost be in Morocco”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stumbled across this restaurant almost by chance and I'm so glad we did. The food was lovely and served with a smile. The atmosphere felt authentic, right down to the bazaar in the basement. Managed to be just in time for the early bird menu, which made it better value, but I'd go back any time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jbwakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 763 helpful votes
“Quite a find... Like stepping into a Morrocan Bazaar!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Its so easy to walk past Cafe Du Globe because the outside does not represent the spice, warmth and authentic atmosphere to be found inside- but do not let the humble exterior fool you and give it a chance because you will not be disappointed!!!

Mostafa (the owner) will welcome you into his establishment, engage in conversation about all things Morroco and help you decide on the best dishes. I loved the bright and colourful interior, adorn in Morrocan furnishings. The most surprising thing is the bazaar shop downstairs with beautiful jewellry, pottery and furniature. Really funky- I even bought myself a very colourful and OTT necklace!

I believe it is the only Morrocan restaurant in Bath. The food is cooked really well in old tagine pots and harbour full flavour of all the authentic spices. The 2 course Set Lunch menue at £10.95 pp is a winner and the 2 course set dinner menu at £19.95 is also sensational. I think the portions are too large for lunch so we tended to visit for dinner which is plentiful and filling! My personal favourite meal is the Tagine Begri Ba Jelbana Wel Artichoux, which is a traditional beef tagine with green peas and new potatoes. Starter wise I like every item on the meeze style menu.

I have never eaten a poor meal here, left feeling hungry or feeling as if my custom didn't mean anything! All in all a little gem in Bath and you should definately give it a go if you like trying out new flavours!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank AmberEmTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tagine Zhor also viewed

 

Been to Tagine Zhor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing