We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Party”

The Bathwick Boatman
Ranked #11 of 571 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Bathwick Boatman is a tranquil slice of gastronomic heaven, located just 10 minutes stroll from Bath's city centre on the picture-perfect banks of the River Avon. Run by husband and wife restaurateur team Ben and Rosy Hall, the restaurant is set in an old rowing club with beautiful river views and a cosy, rustic ambience. After training in Italy and Spain, Ben worked in Miami before returning home to Britain, and his simple, seasonal menu is full of robust flavours and represents good old-fashioned value for money. The Bathwick Boatman has a divine summer terrace, and is perched just above Bath's historic boating station, where you can hire a punt or a rowing boat for a post-meal paddle.
Bath
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Summer Party”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

A wonderful riverside setting - the perfect venue for a Summer Party. The home-made canapes were delicious and the kitchen even catered for a special dietary requirement at very short notice - nothing was too much trouble. Owners Rosy and Ben were wonderful in helping us plan the evening and the front of house staff were charming and friendly. Our party of 45 enjoyed the views from the verandah and later on, the relaxed atmosphere at the bar. We are already planning our Christmas get-together. A truly hidden gem!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    96
    24
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Relaxing Luncheon venue with visual delights!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The location of the Bathwick Boatman is awonderful place to relax after enjoying the Architecural Wonders of Baths Georgian Buildings Just a short distance from the Interesting American Museum, A rare feature off Bath!! Parking on site with the delightful view of the River Avon from the restaurants balcony the place to Dine on a fine day! The Dining Rooms interesting Rowing Decor adds to its ambience.The proprietor/chef produces & sends wonderful delights from his Kitchen,with a varied menu& dailySpecials! You will appreciate this relaxing haven after a busy mornings "Sightseeing"

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful experience from start to finish”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

A huge thank you to all at The Bathwick Boatman for making my friends Hen-Do lunch so beautiful and special.
The entire team were welcoming and accommodating from the very beginning. We spent an hour rowing on the river before enjoying a stunning luncheon in the delightful little restaurant.
I decided that pre-booking and pre-ordering was the way forward as there were 20 of us. When we arrived, the tables were set and decorated with fresh flowers and the waiters ready for our drinks orders and take pics of our group against the pretty background.
The guys waiting on us were fabulous; really polite and efficient...we couldn't fault our visit and I certainly can’t wait to return. I would highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Passion on a plate”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Loved this place. Decor unpretentious, view gorgeous, quite boutique in feel. Most importantly a varied menu and a kitchen that can cook! The owner chef loves food. It's clear with every mouthful. And the front of house is fab with friendly chat and wine suggestions. Gorgeous place, summer or winter.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ratty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“boating heaven”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We didn't actually eat here this time, but hired a boat. It is the most wonderful location for a boat trip, and the boats themselves are beautiful. This place is a gem within walking distance of the city. Looking forward to eating here. The friendly dogs were on added bonus!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morwenna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bathwick Boatman also viewed

 

Been to The Bathwick Boatman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing