We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Cafe!”
Review of Cafe Retro

Cafe Retro
Ranked #73 of 577 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: British, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Cafe!”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I have a really good time at this place.
I ordered a set of cream tea which the scones were very good but the tea is too bitter.

Anyway, the staffs are very nice and friendly :)
It's a place that I recommend you to visit one day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chillingbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    123
    37
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Convenient location near Bath Abby & Hop on/off bus stop”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

A small cafe with clean bathroom. My ratatouille over couscous was delicious. My husband's avocado and prawn salad was fresh and tasty but the small shrimp was over cooked. Service was good in a cute cafe. Very convenient for tourists like us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kueimei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great cafe”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Have visited Cafe Retro a few times now when out in Bath. I have only been around mid morning/lunch time so I have no idea what it's like in the evening, but it serves some great sandwiches, paninis, breakfasts, and other offerings during the day. The veggie stack sandwich is top notch and delicious. Really filling. There are plenty of different drinks - juices, coffees, iced coffees, teas, smoothies, etc.

Service has always been excellent - friendly, quick, warm, and helpful.

It's a casual cafe with no frills on the decor front (as in, it's not a fancy/high end place and no posh sofas - instead think wooden chairs and checked wipe-clean table cloths) but brilliant for a relaxed bite to eat.

I have actually taken a trip to Bath (from Bristol) just to satisfy my need for a veggie stack at Cafe Retro.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank squirrelcheeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great smoothies”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We ate here twice last week, enjoyed the ambience and food both times. The smoothies were delicious, the cappucino very good, the BLT, and smoked salmon & scrambled eggs on toast all tasty. Only thing that let it down was the fry up. It was £6.50 for a smallish plate, with very low grade overcooked sausages. I also think that if you serve smoked bacon you must put this on the menu, and I know I'm going to sound like Alan Partridge, but you really shouldn't pour the beans over the egg - use the sausage as an auxilliary breakwater. But, the staff were very friendly, the location great, and if we're ever back in town we'll certainly go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great value, lovely decor”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We popped in here for a breakfast on the last day of our romantic weekend in Bath. Had a fantastic breakfast, great value, great service in a lovely café that had a real ambience to it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Retro also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Retro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing