We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandwich to go on the corner or "sit down" & enjoy a tasty sandwich.”
Review of Cafe Retro

Cafe Retro
Ranked #73 of 577 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: British, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Sandwich to go on the corner or "sit down" & enjoy a tasty sandwich.”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

By the time you walk the streets of Bath, sometimes you just want to enjoy a nice comfortable cafe. And Cafe Retro fit the bill. Generous portions and great local atmosphere. Service was quick. I would definitely eat there again! Looking at their website upon returning home I notice they specialize in Bath Buns and specialty cake. Stop in and say Hello.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    123
    37
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Staff let it down!”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We visited this Cafe when we first arrived in Bath last Wednesday for a late lunch. The food was nice but agree with previous reviews regarding a bit steep for what we had, which were basically toasted panini! However, the main thing that let it down for us was the rude waitress. Firstly, we felt she did not want to accomodate our party (of 9) even though there were tables available, and every option we asked her about the seating arrangement she just kept finding excuses as to why we couldn't sit there! Secondly, when we asked her for something it seemed as if we were bothering her! When the bill came it clearly stated on the top no service charge included but then they added 10% to each of our bills at the bottom, which we felt was not justifiable as the service was terrible!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We were trying to have lunch at Mad Hatters around the corner, but they had no tables, so we came to Cafe Retro instead. The food wasn't anything spectacular, but it was good enough for lunch.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank m s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szczecin, Zachodniopomorskie, Poland
1 review
“best spot & rolling stones”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Few days ago I've visited Cafe Retro and that was the best experience in my life I guess. Not so many people, amazing design and atmosphere. I've ordered bath bun with tea which costed all together 3,50 pounds and it was delicious. They play great music, really nice rock, blues and so on. I've also met here Ronnie Wood from The Rolling Stones and what could be better review? ;)

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Łucja W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice food but a bit pricey”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Me and my partner had lunch recently in Cafe Retro. I had the Bacon, avocado and brie panini and he had the goats cheese and caramellised onion baguette. Both sandwiches were a nice quantity and flavour, with no scrimping on the filling; the onions were excellent.
Service, however, was slightly lacking - we waited about 15 mins for our bill and eventually had to go up to pay even though the place wasn't busy at all.
The prices are more like London than Bath and to my mind it's not justified.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank kamillalovesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Retro also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Retro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing