We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful taste of England”
Review of Tilleys Bistro - CLOSED

Tilleys Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $52
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Closed for refurbishment...
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A wonderful taste of England”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Four of us enjoyed a late lunch at Tilley's. I started with a tasty soup, then a delicious fish and vegetables, and finished with the lemon posset trifle. Everything was perfect. I would make this a regular lunch place if it were anywhere near my home.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,000
    277
    68
    38
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“When in Bath, do as the locals do, . . .”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I am an American living in the United Kingdom for seven years now. A good friend of our's, a resident of Bath, introduced us to Tilleys. Ever since we have passed the inside knowledge on. Great location, everything excellent from the menu, friendly service, and a quaint, quiet ambience makes its a top choice in Bath. Put Tilleys on your 'list;' you'll appreciate the value and interlude in the heart of Bath.

And, enjoy!

Diamond John

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 4S_for_Good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gourmet AND Gluten free!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had just left a restaurant as they didn't seem to be overly interested in doing a Celiac friendly meal for my wife. Walking along N. Parade Passage where there are several restaurants we saw this one's menu. It looked really interesting and to boot had many selections marked gf. The food was varied and excellent. The soups, butternut squash and the onion, flavourful, hearty and filling. We took an extra order of the butternut squash for tomorrow's lunch. The duck, the bouef bourguinon and salad were all excellent. What a treat ...a gourmet meal that was gluten and diary free that was so delicious. The service was terrific and they handled our order with ease and confidence ( both important for a Celiac! ). They lit up and welcomed our appreciation when my wife went personally to thank the chef.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A lovely dining experience”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We discovered this restaurant because it was next to Sally Lund's and the menu looked more interesting. My husband and I both ordered the Sole and it was really delicious. However, the sole was served whole and was not boned for us. The vegetable accompanying the entree were steamed and uninspiring. The crab soup was very good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michiganhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Just as good after 30 years”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Have not been there for years ,no reason any went there last night the 4 of us Sheila,Sharon & Phil.we had a great table and as an average price per dish £6 we had a good portion of the menu + a few bottles of wine.The Staff were great as was the food, sorry left a bit of a mess on the table.We also had some good banter with other customers on the other tables.Don't forget to book it is a pleasure to go there

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter Franklin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tilleys Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing