We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fab setting”

The Pump Room Restaurant
Ranked #48 of 571 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“What a fab setting”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

What a beautiful room.A chance to spoil yourself and have a very expensive tea- £38 a couple.
The smoked salmon blini was fab.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cliff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayleigh R, Marketing Executive at The Pump Room Restaurant, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for the great review.

Do come back and see us again next time you are in Bath.

Kind regards,
Kayleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,034 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,044
    633
    229
    91
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good, but not as good as we expected.”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had this venue recommended by friends who raved about it. Maybe we caught it on a bad day (Monday 14th Oct). We were a little early, but the table was ready-a plus point. Chose the standard afternoon tea. It was good, but only just good, no more than that. We had expected above average and felt that two scones were a cheap filler upper, even if the cream with them was excellent. Those sarnies were nothing special! Our waiter obviously went for a break halfway through our tea, as the service became a little less attentive. We did not enjoy being gawped at by the visitors to The Baths who seemed to have license to wander in and out of the eating area at will, take photos and generally spoil the elegance and atmosphere of this lovely place. The young lady on the till seemed a bit vexed that we didn't wish to put a tip on our card payment-that would be because we'd left our tip on the table, but didn't feel the need to explain ourselves to her. Overall, we were a bit disappointed. We would still say to someone "try it", but it has a long way to go before it gives Bothams at Whitby a run for their money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NelsonBearsMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayleigh R, Marketing Executive at The Pump Room Restaurant, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for The Pump Room Restaurant.

We aim to provide high levels of service to all of our guests at all times. Staff breaks are covered by a colleague and we do try to ensure staff take these at quieter moments where possible.

As a historical building in the centre of Bath we get many people taking photos (guests and visitors alike). I am sorry if you felt this to be a nuisance.

Kind regards,
Kayleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Always enjoyable”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We've eaten in The Pump Room a great many times over the years and we've also attended a few special events there. We've also eaten in a lot of other establishments in Bath over the past few years, but we often go back to the Pump Room. We've taken about a dozen house guests there. To a person, every single one of them has been very pleased with the service. We usually take the full afternoon tea. We don't go to the Pump Room to expect "fast food" type of service - there are other places for that. We go there to enjoy the sumptuous and classic surrounding and be served very traditional and high quality items. No, it's not necessarily cheap but that's why the have menus available - if it's beyond what you want to spend, move along - nobody is forced to eat there. As always, everyone makes their own experiences in life but for us, The Pump Room is and will remain a favourite place in Bath. We'd certainly recommend it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenockLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayleigh R, Marketing Executive at The Pump Room Restaurant, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for the great review.

It is lovely to hear that you are a regular visitor to the Pump Room.

Hopefully we will see you at one of our Christmas events.

Kind regards,
Kayleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“sophisticated”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The atmosphere was one of calm as we were shown to our table with its pristine linen cloth. We ordered cheese and chive scones as the trio soothed us by playing in the background. No fuss, just excellent service from the waiter who delivered pots of coffee with cream. The scones with butter were warm and delicious and the coffee perfect.
It was the perfect break from the bustle outside. At a cost of £7 each, we felt it was good value.
We recommend a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MidlandsDisappointed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayleigh R, Marketing Executive at The Pump Room Restaurant, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your scones and found them to be good value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the restaurant.

Kind regards,
Kayleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
142 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
“Surprised really as the food was excellent”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We went for lunch as it was Jane Austen week and "they" were all arriving for afternoon tea.

I have to say, considering this is a tourist spot, I was really surprised with the quality of the food and the service was really good.

Two small gripes are that the day we went it was freezing cold and raining but it was freezing cold in the restaurant and the toilets could also do with an automatic deodoriser as they were a bit smelly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayleigh R, Marketing Executive at The Pump Room Restaurant, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for The Pump Room Restaurant.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your lunch.

Your comments regarding the toilets will be passed on to the relevant person.

Kind regards,
Kayleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pump Room Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Pump Room Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing